We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this to anyone visiting Dunedin”

Taieri Gorge Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.74*
and up
Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin
Ranked #3 of 49 Tours in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A highlight of your visit to Dunedin is a trip on the Taieri Gorge Railway - one of the world's great train trips and one of Dunedin's top attractions. Departing daily from downtown Dunedin into the Taieri Gorge, this trip travels through some of New Zealand's most beautiful and ever changing scenery which can not seen from the road! With sightseeing stops, on board cafe, outside viewing platforms it is the perfect all weather activity and one of the key attractions in Dunedin - not to be missed.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this to anyone visiting Dunedin”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Absolutely stunning views from beginning to end with a full commentary along the way taking you back through the history of the railway. Extremely interesting and there's stop off points along the way in which you get step off the train and take photos of the surroundings. There's also a cafe on board with a wide variety of hot and cold food and drinks. Highly recommend this for anyone visiting Dunedin.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaChapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi there - thanks for your review.
Wonderful to see you had a great time and thanks for the nice words.
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, TGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    419
    127
    29
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Travel back in time”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As one travels down the Taieri Gorge Railway it is difficult to put oneself into the place of those old time gold miners who used this route in the past. However, suspending judgement, and simply experiencing the way in which the railway clings to the side of the gorge, hanging over the vertical drops to the river below, and crawling over a number of extremely precarious bridges, gives one a very intimate perspective!.
We did the trip one way, on a coach trip from Queenstown and then down the Gorge Railway to Dunedin, and this is an extremely good way to do it, although others - mainly from the cruise ships, came up from Dunedin to 'the top' and then returned back to Dunedin.
Bear in mind that if you are travelling from Dunedin to 'the top' the gorge is mainly on the right hand side of the train, and vice versa if you are travelling from 'the top' down to Dunedin, and the most stunning views are 'over the gorge'

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello and thank you for your review of Taieri Gorge Railway. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip on the Track and Trail tour - which is a coach and train combo package between Queenstown and Dunedin. This is an awesome way to see real New Zealand - particularly if you have little time. You got to see a part of our country that few see.
There is a great deal of history behind our railway line and it has been well built and preserved and is an extremely enjoyable experience for all.
Thanks once again!
Barbara Reid, Marekting Manager, TGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson - New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just been on the train trip to Middlemarch. Absolutely brilliant. Dave the duty manager is very entertaining with his commentary (even tho he's not a kiwi!) The carriage was lovely and warm and stepping outside to enjoy the refreshing winter bite made the inside even more pleasant! Wasn't surprised that food and drinks are expensive but that seems to be the way with all attractions unfortunately. Six hours was long enough for a full day out and glad I shared it with my family so plenty of chatting along the way! Otago scenery is so worth seeing, I really hope lots of people keep taking these trips as it would be terrible to ever lose these trains.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CJandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello and thank you so much for your great and detailed review of Taieri Gorge Railway. We are glad you enjoyed your trip with is.
All our carriages are heated so it is a really great trip to do in any kind of weather.
We are pleased you found our train manager to be entertaining - we are lucky our staff love the train trip too and this comes through when we guide passengers up the gorge. Our staff like to have fun on board.
Thanks once again and we hope to see you back again another time.
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, TGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Train Trip”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great trip on a lovely old train, wonderful scenery, and great commentary. Well worth the money and time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank maureenm466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Train Trip from the Past”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

An aged train with an entourage of carriages of various ages make this an adventure in days of past glory through some of the most rugged and inhospitable land around. See how early pioneers battled thick bush and rushing waters to explore and inhabit this beautiful (in Summer) and blisteringly cold (in Winter) land.
The train has two stops and market stalls abound at both but the wares on offer are interesting and many are locally produced.
My wife and I enjoyed the home made chocolates! LLA

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayBond, Public Relations Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello and thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip with us.
We do have a variety of carriages in our fleet - a nice, eclectic mix of beautiful historic carriages and newer modern cars.
You really have to travel on this train trip to appreciate the shear determination of building this amazing railway through this landscape.
Thanks once again and we hope to see you back another time.
Barbara Reid, Marketing Manager, TGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taieri Gorge Railway also viewed

 

Been to Taieri Gorge Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing