We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely roomy accomodation and staff very nice and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunedin & Academy Court Motels
Ranked #52 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Christchurch
2 reviews
“Lovely roomy accomodation and staff very nice and helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay and were happy with the space in our 3 bedroom unit. yes it is not all that modern but was clean and tidy and had everything we needed for a stay near the hospital. Lovely and warm with a night store heater and electric blankets. Warmest I've been in Dundedin accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
11
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

Property is advertised as modern when it is out of date.
Unit was expensive for what it offered $190 for four people.
Information states units are serviced daily. This only includes changing towels and emptying the rubbish bin. It does not include making up beds, tidying, dishes or anything else. Rooms are only serviced after a week so after 4 nights it looked like a pigsty. I have never experienced this low level of service before and found it unacceptable especially considering what we payed to stay there.
Kitchen implements were hit and miss. Upon arrival none of the pots had matching lids, there was no chopping board plus other bits and pieces that are normally supplied.
Towels were very shabby and some were see through.
I spoke to the owner and pointed out the deficiences but she was defensive and said that what they were offering was acceptable.
The bed was comfortable and the water pressure was good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

I stayed at this hotel for four nights. Location was good as it was close to the university and only 10-15 min walk to the middle of Dunedin (Octagon). The studio room was a good size with a small kitchenette and separate bedroom. The rooms are quite dated and could do with a facelift.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozjamboree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend daughter's graduation. There were 4 of us in an apartment which could have slept 6 or 7. Rooms were spacious but very dated with loud patterned carpet, floral curtains and burgundy bedspreads. Place was clean and reasonably priced for what is probably one of their busier times of the year. There were lots of funny little typed signs cellotaped around the place eg do not use towels to take makeup off etc. I would not recommend it to anyone unless it had been brought into the 21st century with its decor or if you were on a tight budget with a large family.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank us2kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

We had plenty of room to move in this motel, and it was quite well appointed. It is not a new facility, but was clean, quiet and relatively comfortable. It is within reasonable walking distance of the CBD. Compared with other properties on our NZ holiday, this was quite expensive given the facilities.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.8 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#35 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#15 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#44 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allan Court Motel
Allan Court Motel
#28 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE 755 Regal Court Motel
0.1 mi away
538 Great King Motel
538 Great King Motel
#19 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin & Academy Court Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin & Academy Court Motels

Property: Dunedin & Academy Court Motels
Address: 624 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunedin & Academy Court Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunedin & Academy Court Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing