We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER LOVELY STAY - THIS TIME A DIFFERENT ROOM”
Review of Fletcher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fletcher Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2010

This time last year we were 'wowed' by the Edinburgh Suite (Luxury) ....this year we were unable to book this suite and instead stayed in The Wickliffe Room (Premium) .and were again wowed.Obviously there is a price difference and it is NZ$145 per room per night - as there should be - the facilities are very much in keeping with the price - it would be naive to think otherwise.The Standard rooms are cheaper again ($125 less than Premium) ...and are priced accordingly - it all depends what you require.
The rest of the service is identical - magic breakfasts , safe secure parking ,all the bells and whistles - nothing spared plus wonderful hosts.
Dunedin itself is a wonderful city - but like most cities it can be a bit frayed around the edges ( can't think of a single city without graffiti - can you?) - Fletcher Lodge is not frayed in any respect . Stay in hotels NEVER ( well sometimes you have no choice) - give me personally hosted, owner operated, luxury B&B's any day.Dressed with history and I am home in one - B&B heaven if you like..Maybe next time I will sample a standard room - I am sure I will not be disappointed - it's the service,location and the hosts that count for me every time - and Fletcher Lodge has this in 'spades' (- they are 5 mins from the Casino too...if you need a flutter!)
To be honest I would have given Fletcher Lodge a '6' but Trip Advisor thinks a '5' is max!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2010

Reviewing Fletcher Lodge is a bit of a dilemma. This is the only negative review we've had to give for the whole 4 week touring trip to New Zealand.
The hosts have obviously made an effort to maintain the fabric and interesting aspects of this historic house, and we could appreciate that when we arrived.
We stayed in the Arran room, which was dark, cold, and quite depressing. Its bathroom is large, but has an unenclosed shower (no bath) in the centre - we found this weird, although we were advised that they had to have one unenclosed shower in the hotel 'due to regulations'. Every shower we had resulted in everything in the bathroom being wet. Not to our liking.
Parking is a bit of a nightmare - the website mentions private parking, but in reality if you have a medium to large car, it's a problem due to the restricted space and access.
Dunedin itself was okay in places, the art deco detail on buildings we loved. And the hosts recommended restaurants which were very good. But Dunedin is a working city, and is very drab in places. We were surprised by the noise and the occasional graffiti and litter, although this tended to be in the area we walked around near Fletcher Lodge. Really, we felt less at home there than in any other NZ place we'd visited.
Having said all that, some people will love dark and cold antique bedrooms and drab cities! But it's not for us. Each to his own. Maybe our view was coloured by the fact that we had spent the previous 3 weeks staying in a variety of more modern b&bs that were all light and airy, had good views and in more elegant neighbourhoods. All other hosts had made us feel like part of the family - we never quite connected with the hosts at Fletcher, but judging by the other reviews, that must just be us!
We wouldn't discourage people from staying here - we couldn't fault the service and lots of people obviously like it. It's an interesting old house. But we have to be honest and say it didn't suit us.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockfordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Decorations were very nice with a european feel. Chrystal and china were used for service. Excellent location for sight seeing.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank LovedNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2009

Wandering around Dunedin we found the Fletcher Lodge and got down the narrow drive to find a what appeared to be a nice but not outstanding home … But once the front door opened to us, the charm, art and ambiance were outstanding. Ewa and Peter were extremely personable and even helped us refine some of our upcoming travel goals for NZ … And like the Fletcher Lodge, Dunedin proved to be remarkably more interesting and enticing than several written reports … the architecture in the town and its Scottishness were clearly on display for anyone wanting to notice. The geometric aspect of the center of the town was fun to explore. But the Fletcher Lodge was worth quite a bit of exploration as well … some really wonderful Polish and eastern European art and crafts were in evidence in each room. The history of the house and a listing and explanations of many of the more prominent arts and crafts were written up by Peter and well worth the read. The breakfast was delightful, especially with Ewa sharing some insights on Poland ... After only two nights we felt right at home and quite comfortable which isn't always the case ... Abd with Peter and Ewa's guidence, we discovered some wonderfully unique places to dine and sip Dunedin's finest ...

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcyWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed in May and I don't understand why it has taken me so long to scribe my review.

We visited Dunedin (and NZ) for the first time with friends who had a family attachment with Fletcher Lodge. Eva, the proprietor, was aware of the connection and made a point of showing us how the property had been lovingly updated. Her pride in her property, her business and her new home in Dunedin shone through the whole of our stay and our stay was the better for it.

Our room (the Bracken Room) was pristine, and being a Welshman, I certainly enjoyed the fact that NZ has a dedicated rugby channel on TV.........but the hotel and city will draw you out of your room.

Eva is a wonderful host, clearly loves her business and wants her guests to feel the same. It works, from her warm welcome, to the sherry decanter in the lounge to her pouring your tea at breakfast, you will feel at home.

If you are in Dunedin, stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Thank you Eva, we look forward to our return.

Dziękuję

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshman_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

A two night stay in February in an eccentric old house a short walk into the city (but a steep walk back); very clean and comfortable and with a welcoming host, Ewa, who was very knowledgeable about attractions on the Otago Peninsula. We went to see the Royal Albatrosses and the Yellow-eyed Penguins, both of which were brilliant. Good cooked breakfast but quite formal. No wireless, but free internet access from the computer in the lobby. Dunedin a bit disappointing – rather run down and grubby in places.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyBoomerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We stayed at Fletcher Lodge for 1 night in January. The place was absolutely fab. The house itself is so well decorated and the hostess was so friendly and helpful. Nothing was any bother. We had a wonderful stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KildarePolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
634 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Lodge

Address: 276 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range: £256 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fletcher Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the Dunedin City centre, Fletcher Lodges complex offers luxury accommodation in an atmosphere of restrained elegance while providing the ultimate in contemporary comfort and modern facilities.Nestled in a secluded, established gardens the lodge complex is conveniently located within minutes of many of the citys finest and most popular cafes and restaurants.A Lodge stay offers the charm and personal attention of a bed and breakfast whilst extending the amenities associated with full service HotelsBuilt by Sir James Fletcher in 1924 to serve as his private residence whilst he oversaw the construction of the New Zealand and South Seas Exhibition complex, the main historic property offers a rare glimpse of New Zealands Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fletcher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing