We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little dissapointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leviathan Heritage Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Ranked #54 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Gore
1 review
“A little dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed at this Hotel last weekend and there was a group of us, when we booked the Manager was great and gave us a good deal, which was appreciated, found the lady at breakfast was great, but very dissapointed with the young girl at reception, she was not helpfull at all and when we asked for the bar to be opened as 23 of us wanted a drink she refused, she didn't want to help us almost like we were an inconvenience, I would call that throwing money away.
A real shame as everyone else was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoreManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    33
    13
    14
See reviews for
20
31
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I enjoyed the stay. Nice heritage hotel, close to the historic railway station great for photos, and art gallery, and town. Close to Cadburys chocolate factory, yum! Staff were very warm and friendly. The meal was great. All round great experience, very positive, thanks for making my stay great. Extra thumbs up to the staff for helping with buses.

Room Tip: I only really sore my room. I liked it. 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aktionf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Clean tidy hotel, excellent staff. This hotel is a no frills hotel, but it has clean rooms, clean linen, soft towels, plenty of hot water and a superb breakfast, and all for half the price of a more expensive hotel. Loved the service and dollar for dollar must be the best value hotel in Dunedin.

Room Tip: Family rooms are very cheap, any other room is going to be very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a great time here because the hotel is so interesting. Our room was huge, and was in the older section which had been renovated in the 1970's and awaiting further renovatioin, but everything was clean, the beds provided a restful sleep and the bathroom was very spacious with a tub and separate shower. We also had a kitchenette and refrigerator which was handy for making late-night snacks. The dining room was spectacular in all its' refinement of years past and the breakfast served each morning was delicious. The hotel is across the street from the train station so a must-do tour of the station is easy to accomplish on foot. It was about a 15 minute walk up to the octagon but the front desk can order a taxi easily. Tour operators will also pick you up at the door as the Leviathan is on their pick-up/drop-off route, making it easy to enjoy local tours. We felt this was very good value if you are interested in historical buildings and can overlook the marks of wear and tear left by many visitors over the years.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel started life about 130 years ago, and has some interesting grand old furnishings in public areas. We have stayed 3 times before heading for tramps in the Southern Alps and have found staff helpful and facilities adequate. They have a locked luggage room so you can store things not needed when going 'bush'.
Rooms range in size from back-packers to various en-suite, and reasonable prices to match. All have reasonably up to date facilities, are clean and bedding comfortable. The lowest priced are fairly small. But don't expect luxury. It is a very central hotel directly across from the railway staton.
The dining room provides good breakfasts (continental and cooked), over quite an extended time band. Other meals can be arranged.
The convenience of situation makes this hotel ideal for a short stay or stop-over in Dunedin.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the internal coutyard, or secondly away fro railway station side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GadaboutNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We have stayed here twice now and find it good value for money. It is suited to budget travellers and back-packers which we have been each time. Make sure you get a room on the inside of the building, it over looks a small courtyard. The rooms on the outside are on a main road and VERY noisy. The grand old dining room has a great atmosphere, and the cooked breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside overlooking the courtyard are a must for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The room was cold, fairly drab; location was good; just cold. Staff were generally quite good, except one girl on reception who was rude.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark826_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#43 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#32 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#50 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leviathan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leviathan Heritage Hotel

Property: Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Address: 27 Queens Gardens | PO Box 112, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leviathan Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Ebookers so you can book your Leviathan Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing