We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and oozes history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leviathan Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Ranked #54 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great location and oozes history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We chose this hotel because it was a couple of minutes walk from the Octagon (city centre) and the railway station. Also because it was reasonably priced and in some regards it is like stepping into the 1880's - very much typical Dunedin. We stayed in a backpackers room and thought the facilities were fine. We enjoyed the 'difference' of being in a backpackers while having a restaurant and bar available. It is accurately described as a heritage hotel, it is not a modern 5-star. Enjoy the springy, ancient floorboards in the formal dining room and the upstairs TV lounge with old furniture and an amazing view out over the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJCW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    33
    13
    14
See reviews for
20
31
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Once the biggest hotel in Australasia and a product of the gold-rush that fuelled Dunedin's original growth, the Leviathan now sits to the south of the main town adjacent to the revamped Settler's museum and Cadbury Factory. (It is a thirty minute walk to the main University campus.) Some of its original decoration has been restored including in its magnificent dinning room but, beyond this, the accommodation is dated and a little sad.

Its large car park and adjacent roads make it a favourite with passing truckers and as such it is certainly convenient for passing travellers with a hearty breakfast and accompanying banter from the friendly staff. There is a good sized bar but it is only open if there are patrons, so don't expect to just pop down later in the evening to use it. Wifi is only available at a charge in the draughty reception and the interesting lounge. The wifi is also somewhat unreliable and could easily be made available for free across the whole hotel. .

Overall, Leviathan you were once grand and now you are cheap but not quite cheerful! Try harder!

Room Tip: Beware rooms adjacent to the laundries where it can be noisy and also the very hot water in the show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_simmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

It's not that expensive for a pretty big city (relative) and you get what you pay for. My family and I thought it was fine and the complaints were overstated. If you are looking for luxury, look some place else. Also, watch the shower. It was generally scalding or cold. The trick is to turn on the cold for a few seconds to cool down the hot. Rinse a bit, dodge out and soap up the next part. Breakfast was fine but not extraordinary, although the woman handling service was very friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking for those who drive and not far from the Octagon. It is creaky and the walls are thin if you have noisy or energetic neighbors.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cgflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The photos were nothing of the dirty, dated and unequipped room we got!!! We had grumpy, unhelpful staff, never got told about the outside area, The cleaner I came across was rude, no cooking facilities like we had wanted, no detergent, no can opener, 1 teaspoon for 4 people. Shower was dirty and the vinyl was cracking, and clearly behind the toilet hadn't been cleaned for some time, I would like to know where the rooms are that are on the internet, because we most certainly did not have one like that. Clean, and make your rooms modern, equip your rooms, get friendly staff and tell visitors what is available at your hotel. This was the worst I have ever stayed in, even asking for detergent was an issue!!! Big improvements needed here! WE WERE NOT IMPRESSED, only thing going for it, was you could walk to the shops

Room Tip: Ask to have a look first!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our original Booked room was somewhat small but managed to swap for two rooms with an interconnecting door. With 2 adults and four kids the fit was not going to be easy.
This hotel was wonderful, not pricey, comfortable beds and room to move.
Sure some of the furniture and fittings were dated but renovations are still ongoing so they are at least improving. Rooms were meticulous, crisp sheets on firm beds no fuzz under beds no mould in bathrooms no grunge in the sinks.
We had a predawn wakeup for ANZAC Day 2012 and the hotel was perfectly sited directly across from the Cenotaph with hotel manager having no problem storing wreaths overnight in their fridge.
We also were within walking distance of most city sites and only two blocks up from the Cadbury factory. Carpark was an empty block across from the hotel but no problem finding a spot.
Meals were available but as we were up before the cooks we self catered in the well stocked mini kitchens in our rooms. Many restaurants (over 30 different ones) were within 3 blocks of the hotel so we were happy to amble along enjoying the various street frontages that Dunedin offers on our way to try some of what was on offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked a superior Room, the first room we were allocated was plain grotty. One towel, crappy little TV, old worn out furniture and a very small room. Next room we were changed into after I complained was no better. Friends had a standard room booked which was better than our Superior room. When I asked what made our room a superior room I was told the seats were nicer. Our friends had padded seats, we did not - it was very poor value for money, the long corridors had people running up and down them half the night, and when combined with the age of the building made me think in the event of a fire it would be a death trap. Mould on the shower ceilings didn't add to the ambience.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiChChNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I have spent the last 5 years travelling to the Leviathan and enjoy the wonderful Southern hospitality the hotel and staff supply. The rooms are excellent with the facilities you require for a comfortable stay. The staff add to this with nothing too much trouble. The breakfasts are superb with a wide choice for all tastes. I had two mates travelling with me this year and they were totally won over from their stay, The hotel is close to the centre of town and most attractions are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WCOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#42 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#31 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#50 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leviathan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leviathan Heritage Hotel

Property: Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Address: 27 Queens Gardens | PO Box 112, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leviathan Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Leviathan Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing