We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best character accommodation to stay in Dunedin”
Review of Lisburn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lisburn House
Ranked #19 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best character accommodation to stay in Dunedin”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Right from the start we were welcomed here. It was an amazing place. Olivia and Alan were extremely accommodating and friendly. The room was beautiful and clean. The bathroom was exceptionally clean the room was tidied every day. Breakfast was spot on. The fire was lit. When we mentioned we had a special occasion Olivia and Alan offered to serve us a special dinner in front of the fire place. Amazing place. We will be back for sure and highly recommend to stay here. Elvira and Adam

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ElviraKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a beautiful place this is. The host Olivia is one in a million, very welcoming, down to earth and full of knowledge on the area. Lisburn House itself is truly beautiful, with all it's beautiful features, tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. We had two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it, the breakfasts prepared by Olivia were delicious and a great start to the day. Honestly we couldn't fault our accommodation, or anything about Lisburn House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights, in the blue room, which, as another reviewer noted, has a private bathroom which is across the hall from the bedroom, however, the room was very comfortable. My one concern is that the house is situated quite some distance from the centre of Dunedin, so you do need a car if you are staying here.

Olivia and Alan made us very welcome, and it was interesting to hear about the history of this beautiful old house, and to learn how Olivia and Alan have gone about restoring the place to its former glory. It made a pleasant change to stay in a property with character, after having stayed in several big hotel chains with identical decor. There is no lift here, but that was not a problem, as Olivia and one of her female staff insisted on carrying our cases up to our room for us. That really was above and beyond the call of duty, especially as our cases were extremely heavy! Thank you Olivia.

Room Tip: Just be aware that the rooms are all upstairs, and the Rose and Blue rooms have their own bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We decided to stay in a B&B instead of the usual bland, corporate mega-hotels and I am so happy for that decision. This place reminded me of the stately homes of Britain. Dark woods, sweeping staircases, chandeliers, roaring fires, wing-back chairs, silver service, bone china, 4 poster beds etc. I had a quick look at the books on the shelf in our room - Anne of Green Gables, A passage to India, Jane Eyre, The Prince and the Pauper, 20,000 Leagues under the sea. It's as if the entire place hasn't changed in 100 years, It's brilliant ! Olivia and Alan were fabulous, they couldn't do enough for us - from ensuring we got the best seat in a restaurant to providing crystal glasses when we said we had champagne. I have a real taste of both romance and old-classic grandeur, and this place epitomised it. Love it xx

Room Tip: We had the Victorian room which had it's own en-suite. The other don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelledBrit018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Nice stay. Be aware that rose and blue rooms, the bathroom is across the hall. You have your own bathroom, but you do have to leave your room.

Olivia is very friendly and will give you her opinion of places in the area.

Location is not downtown, so you will have to take car to get to city center and restaurants there.

This is a true B and B. Olivia will sit down at breakfast and chat. She will also welcome you back from a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintravel1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during travels through the South Island. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly and chatty Olivia who saw I was heavily pregnant so upgraded us to the Victorian room (ensuite versus private bathroom). The house is lovely, with lots of small details and interesting history. Everything was clean and tidy, and we had a very goods night sleep. Olivia gave us a great recommendation for dinner nearby at St Clair beach. Breakfast in the morning was good and we left with full stomachs. Would definately recommend to others. Only downfall was bedrooms are all upstairs so make sure your suitcase isn't too heavy!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent a couple of nights at Lisburn House and really enjoyed it. The house itself has numerous original features including some original fireplaces and ceilings with amazing plasterwork. You can see everywhere the care and attention to detail that has gone into restoring the property and in maintaining it to a very high standard.
Olivia & Alan were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was first class.
The property is easy to find (if you check on a map before setting off!) and is a short bus ride or drive to the centre of Dunedin. It is quite close to the main highway to Invercargill (and it stands out as you drive on it) but we didn't find traffic noise a problem (and we are light sleepers!).
Warmly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room wasn't en suite (difficult in such a historic building) but you get your private bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
7.4 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
175 reviews
2.7 mi away
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 63 in Dunedin
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisburn House

Property: Lisburn House
Address: 15 Lisburn Avenue, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lisburn House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lisburn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing