We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and homey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manor House Backpackers
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and homey”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This place might be a bit old and the facilities in at least one of the houses should be updated, but the cosy and homey atmosphere more than make up for it! The staff is fantastic and helpful and pizza and movie night is a great initiative. This is more like a family than a hostel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Jo616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    50
    20
    8
    11
See reviews for
6
31
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Very clean and neat. But the house is old and creaky, the floors vibrates and creaks if we walk. Kitchen facilities are not good. Seems like lots of tenants stay there for very very long time.
But its closer to town and supermarkets

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank water s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights and the place was really good. My room was upstairs, so it was quiet in there as there were only 3 or 4 rooms in total. All dorm rooms were downstairs. Location was great, only about a 10-minute walk to Octagon. Staff was nice and the place was clean. Kitchen wasn't too big though and there were only 2 bathrooms, one upstairs and one downstairs. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t_a870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The staff here are absolutely clueless. They don't know the prices of the tours they offer, aren't around when you need them (like when you need to check out and get your stuff back), and then completely mismanaged a simple task, to send something an important document the mail. Essentially it's run by a bunch of 20-something ex-pat amateurs who don't care at all about the people who stay there are (and it's pretty damn dirty, as well).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oot_and_aboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here with our Under 16 Rugby team. Having stayed in several lodgings with a team before we found this to be the best we have stayed in. Such a relaxing environment and the manager was very friendly and helpful. We would definately book again and will recomment to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canterburycrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I flew in to Dunedin to relax and find out what I wanted to do with my short time in New Zealand. I ended up staying 4 days, traveled around, then came back to the Manor House for 2 days because of the friends I made. I was able to relax as I fell in with the staff and hostel goers as family. I liked the distance it is from the center of town. It's far enough from the Octagon (Central Dunedin) to sleep (it's pretty quiet away from the city) and close enough to enjoy a night out in Dunedin. This is not an exciting hostel like Nomads or X-base in Queenstown, but it's a great place to catch a breather or end a busy holiday.

The hill to the house is what gives it character. As someone with an average fitness level, I had no problem hiking up it. The only part that bothered me was that it was a bit chilly in the hostel. This was probably due to the air conditioning (open windows) but I found the hostel to never be stuffy, as many hostels can become when there is only central air conditioning.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GodsFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Dunedin is not my favorite place at the best of times. Its very grey, cold and rains a lot and during this bad weather there is not much to do so coming to a backpackers that is a good twenty minutes out of the city and on a steep hill and even steeper driveway, i was not impressed with this backpackers at all. As a seasoned traveller I have stayed at many backpackers and this was by far the worst one i have stayed at. I understand that dunedin may not offer top quality accommodation on the same level as a large city like auckland, london or sydney but still, the room was old, the beds creaked and the mattresses were so thin everyone complained of back ache in the morning. There was one bathroom for three ten bedroom dormitories downstairs and one bathroom upstairs which was not clean, had a faulty lock on it and as you could imagine had a queue. There was no lock on the rooms during the day which was terrible and intrusive. The majority of backpackers have swipe cards or at the very least a private door key but this dorm which contained ten of us (it was a group booking made by a mutual friend) had no lock except a code which was not activated until after 8pm at night. The kitchen was small and dirty and not even a tad big enough for all the people that were staying at the time. There was no free tea or coffee and I did not see the managers except to ask about a pay phone and I was pretty much barked at. There was no sense of homely atmosphere and customer service did not exist.
For twenty dollars a night however, i guess one cannot be picky. I tend to pay a little extra and stay in a more comfortable secure backpackers but i did not book this one as the person who did was a cheap skate who wanted to forgo general necessities for cost.
cutting.
Bad location, bad kitchen and bathroom, bad service and extremely dusty and unsafe when it rained as one could slip on steep driveway, forget baldwin street!! Walk up this driveway in the rain if you want to be pushed beyond your limits
DO NOT STAY

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 80sgirlChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.6 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#57 of 61 in Dunedin
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1.4 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Backpackers

Property: Manor House Backpackers
Address: 28 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Manor House Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House rated number 1 Dunedin hostel on Tripadvisor. See for yourself why we are rated the best hostel in town. Situated just up the road from the Naked Bus depot and minutes walk to the city center, we look forward to having you to stay. Book through our website to get all the special offers. WHAT WE PROVIDE TO ALL OUR GUESTS: FREE fast WIFI UNLIMITED,available throughout the hostel, tent, vans FREE taxi from Intercity bus depot,must stay 2 nights and book direct FREE computer available 24/7 FREE tea, coffee and spices for cooking FREE herbs from the herb garden FREE use of the BBQ FREE DVDs to watch, over 100 to choose from FREE hair dryers and hair straighteners to borrow FREE alarm clocks to borrow for those early starts FREE phone for local Dunedin calls and national 0800 numbers FREE off-street parking (on a first-in, first-served basis) FREE ear plugs! FREE salt and pepper and anything else you can find on the kitchen shelves FREE sewing kit to use FREE storage FREE eco boutique (free second hand clothes and items) FREE hot chocolates every night throughout the winter We are one of the only hostels that has free parking on the road and at the hostel. Movies nights every Tuesday and Thursday 8.30Pm with popcorn, hot chocolates and marshmallows. Our staff working extremely hard to make your stay as comfortable and fulfilling while staying in Dunedin. We are here to help you plan your activities and tours, or just relax. The staff have all traveled and understand the needs of a traveler. We have bikes available to hire daily and you can book tours with us. LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING YOU SOON. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Manor House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing