We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    306
    140
    29
    15
See reviews for
146
269
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed for two days having picked up a cheap last minute rate and were pleasantly surprised. Location is at the north end of town so is away from the central city by a few blocks. However, unlike most hotels in Dunedin, it has plenty of parking space, is easy to access and has spacious, attractive gardens. The room was large, with two double beds, well appointed and well equipped with Internet facilities and a large modern TV. The bathroom was modern and spacious. If windows are left open at night, noise from the one way street system can be a problem. There did not appear to be air conditioning but this was not a major problem. Access to second floor rooms is only by stairs. Staff were efficient and pleasant. There are plenty of good cafes and dining places nearby. We thought the hotel restaurant prices were a little high. We will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Not great overall.

General location ok, albeit slightly out of the Centre of Dunners (although this means parking is easy!).

Room was a decent size, clean and well equipped if a little dated. Was very noisy though, with cleaning staff waking us up early and other guests/corridor noise throughout the night.

Internet charges extortionate - $30 for 24hrs?!

Hot water decided to stop working in the morning, staff not really very bothered (or friendly) so ended up skipping the shower. Bed was uncomfortable, and mattress needed changing badly.

Overall slightly less depressing than the other Mercure in Dunedin (where if you are lucky you can have a room with no windows at all), but either Scenic Hotel offers better value for money and standards IMO.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor and as far away from Reception as possible must be quieter than our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feetup619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I spent one night here as part of a three week tour of NZ. As the hotels were part of a package, we don't know the prices of individual accommodation but we can compare and contrast.

We found the Leisure Lodge to be OK but nothing remarkable. It's a modern, medium sized hotel in North Dunedin. Easy to find and close to main road - but no problem with noise. It's a short drive into central Dunedin past the University but probably too far to walk. We didn't notice any shops or restaurants locally if you didn't fancy the hotel. We drove into the centre and ate in an Irish pub as the restaurant in the hotel struck us as pricey.

We had a room on the second floor at the rear of the hotel. It was spacious, clean and comfy. Bed, bathroom, TV etc. All fine, nothing worn out but nothing spectacular.

Moans: it was a drag getting the suitcases from car up to room - lift was at front of hotel and we weren't offered help with bags. And while there's free wifi in the lobby, the download limit is ridiculous - I managed to open one e mail. After that we had to pay.

But check in and out was quick and efficient. Staff were polite and friendly.

So it was fine but nothing to make it stand out for us - or even to make it remarkable. But no disasters.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dai_the_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Very nice place. Gardens outside window, very nice. Great helpful staff. restaurant excellent with great food and wine. Room well appointed. Plenty of parking and easy to find. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1.0 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Property: Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#23 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing