We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Tanunda
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Dunedin was wet and cold but this motel was warm and inviting. Enjoyed the restaurant although would have liked a lounge area -perhaps around a fire-to have coffee after dinner.Overall a very enjoyable experience, would come back and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    310
    140
    30
    15
See reviews for
149
271
55
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We are usually very satisfied with stays at the Mercure. Unfortunately this time the dinning room and bar did not have sufficent staff and we wait for over an hour for our evening meal, which was not value for money on this ocassion.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth70_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Located at the northern end of town this is not a bad hotel. Close to Baldwin street and a short drive to town. Parking is easy and plenty of take away places within walking distance. Staff friendly and helpful and rooms clean and not too cramped. The only negative is that it is on a main road intersection and may get a little noisy at times. We didn't notice the noise that much. Also very close to the botanical gardens, across the road. Overall a pleasant stay. Good value for the buck, we had a good rate. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We hadn't intended to stay the night in Dunedin so ended up looking for a room at short notice. This place is in North Dunedin so away from the centre of town but convenient for leaving in the morning. Our room cost $120 a night which was good value and we were upgraded to a room with a small kitchenette for free. Rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean. The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisan_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in the Mecure Leisure Lodge with lovely gardens, comfortable room with ample parking. Enjoyed breakfast daily that was plentiful and delicious. Experienced Wonderful service throughout my stay. This was my second stay at this hotel and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyonabillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Accor, I'm sure you can afford it,but please please update your hotel.Its like going into a 1970s place. I am64 years old and even I think it's sooooo old fashioned.The rooms are comfortable even though I had booked a superior room and was put in a standard one.They did offer to fix it but I had unpacked and decided just to go with it on adjusted price.The room service and food was very nice. It is a slight challenge with the trucks stopping and starting so perhaps if you can bring yourself to double glazing it would help a lot. Position is very good to get into town etc.SO please please spend the money and upgrade it for us travelers. I am also an Accor member and do want to stay in your hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaylene62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
758 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Property: Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#23 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing