We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“starving/noisy/no in-room wifi/no aircon.... do I need to continue?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Let me make it simple:

Cons:

no in-room wifi: this is the only hotel during my NZ trip without in room wifi. Even Ibis in another city got the wifi. I have paid for the lobby wifi instead, but the connection is not stable and I cannot even make a skype call (in which even other hotels that I have stayed can).

Starving: The restaurant closed at 9pm. So after our wildlife tour (9.20pm), we can only had our room service as dinner. Which is fine, IF I can at least having some kind of main course or stuff. But no. All we can have were: mac and cheese, lasagne, or panini (no joke. I can only choose from 5/6 items). And the portion was not even enough for an adult. We need to order double instead.

noisy: some of the rooms are facing the road so it's kinda noisy, I have switched to the garden room.

no air-con: No air con is fine, but no air con AND facing the road? That's the problem.

Pros:

The staff is nice and friendly, and I can feel their passion in their job.

Bathroom: bathroom is clean.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank GLaw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureLeisureLodge, Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 666 reviews

An Accor traveller
Dunedin, New Zealand
1
Reviewed 9 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureLeisureLodge, Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay, comfortable and adequate for our needs. The staff were friendly and helpful and the position of the hotel is ideally situated with plenty of car parking and far enough from traffic to be quiet at night. Pleasant garden surrounds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandyTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureLeisureLodge, Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

A sterile business hotel. Well away from main centre. Restaurant not open for lunch - only limited room service menu. Dinner was OK in restaurant. A member of staff was kind enough to open the bar late afternoon so we could get a drink. Staff friendly. More a motor lodge then a leisure lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad2912
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Great place to stay on our frequent visits to this university city. Hotel offers peace and quiet and extensive gardens. Handily placed for Botanical gardens across the road, and for visiting children at Otago Uni. Pleasant walk down into town.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank Faberge36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We like the location opposite the gardens and near the university yet not far from town. This motel has lovely gardens of its own and lots of ground floor units opening onto them. It is very quiet and has plenty of parking so its our choice when visiting Dunedin. The upgraded bathrooms work well and the dining room has good food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#17 of 61 in Dunedin
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#36 of 61 in Dunedin
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
751 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#23 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £80 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing