We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Invercargill
1 review
“Very Happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Our overnight stay was very comfortable. Good service and very nice room. Sleep was a little compromised by having to leave the door onto balcony open to cool the room.
By taking advantage of the Accor deal available the room rate was tremendous.
We will continue to stay in Accor Hotels, providing they continue to offer outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureLeisureLodge, Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    299
    137
    29
    15
See reviews for
143
263
53
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Otago New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

This is the second time that we made a booking here. It is good value for money for the following reasons. The first time we had a standard room with a kitchenette which we found very convenient. This time we had a Superior room without the kitchenette, but with two double beds which were good, because of the extremely warm night and we didn't need to share.
The Lodge is only a three minute walk from the Botanical gardens which offered us the opportunity for lovely walks. The Lodge is well situated, away from the busyness of the City center. There is also ample off street parking.
The only problem is that there is no air conditioning and though we had a room opening onto the lovely garden it was not advisable to sleep with an open door. We did have the windows opened, but for obvious security reasons they could not to open wide enough.
A big thank you to the staff and management for an amazing Christmas lunch and the friendly service all round.
You will continue to be our first choice of accommodation in future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureLeisureLodge, Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk vulcan
Level Contributor
158 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

had a room overlooking the road although the noise was not too bad. others said the garden rooms were better. However our room was comfortable and clean with lots of space for disabled access. the restaurant was good and the Haggis ceremony very funny - they don't take themselves too seriously!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureLeisureLodge, Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers or business reps. Excellent restaurant, and very handy to most Dunedin attractions. Easy access and good car parking. Spacious room, and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureLeisureLodge, Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you Jiannie We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
237 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We like our garden view room very much. Our room was clean and have access to the garden just outside our room on the ground floor. The hotel is also located next to the Botanical Gardens.

Hotel staff were cheerful and helpful. This was an inexpensive place to stay and we really had a very relaxing time to spend our weekend in Dunedin.

Room Tip: Garden view room is good. The rest of the rooms would be facing the car park or the roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureLeisureLodge, Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear TJX05

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

where can I start.....
We were greeted by Gemma, who was more than welcoming. We were exceptionally surprised upon arrival to our room as I thought the exterior of the hotel was a bit dated. The room (which was the executive suite) was way above my expectations. Almost like a one bedroom apartment. Spa bath was fabulous. We had views to both sides off the complex. Road noise did not bother us, and the garden view was amazing. Had dinner in the restaurant and cannot say any thing bad about.it..
I definitely can say that we will be going back there, with not hesitating at all...10 out of 10

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aconfused1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureLeisureLodge, Reservations at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Property: Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#22 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing