We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent presentation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were going on train next day to Middlemarch, so lovely clean & peaceful place to stay, great sleep, no traffic noise. Loved the little express breakfast available in mornings. Great outlook on to lawn & gardens.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank marilynnoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    299
    137
    29
    15
See reviews for
143
263
53
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I booked this through Accor and it was the cheaper of the 2 x hotels. I was very impressed in that the room was far better than I expected and really good value for money. (also comparable to a decent motel) The only 2 x things holding it back from being perfect were that I had to carry my bags up some stairs and along some long coridoors which wasn't a major for me but if I was an older person I should ask for a room on the ground floor. It was also quite wet outside and I had to park a bit far away from the man entrance as there isn't a covered unloading area. Apart from that I plan to stay there regularly from now on.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Hebron112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed as part of a tour group. Rooms clean and comfortable. Food tasty and varied. Very handy for the Botanic Garden which we didn't have time to explore completely. We walked to and from city centre, level going but quite a long way. Surrounded by University accommodation but no problems. WiFi only in lobby area and definitely pedestrian!

Room Tip: Over looking the garden seems best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan4619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. We had breakfast the first day, but the selection was ordinary and the service was average. So we didn't return the next day.
The corridor was quite noisy, and we could hear the adjacent rooms at times.
The location was good for us, it was easy to get to, but really, its a fairly standard property. No real problems - room was clean, reception staff were nice.
Having said that, the room rates reflect what is being offered.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveurope22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found it fantastic. Gemma was on reception and she was very helpful and accommodating. The location was great for us as we were attending a concert.

The room was modern and comfortable. We were able to have a late check out and they serviced our room at a time convenient to us.

I would defiantly return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyMitch05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I really enjoyed my week stay at the Mercure Leisure Lodge. I must admit at first I was a little anxious, because my previous visit to Dunedin was so terrible at the Scenic Hotel that it left a negative feeling within me about Dunedin. However, I think because of the Mercure Leisure Lodge, my confidence in Hotels in Dunedin Has been restored. I was met with the most helpful, friendly and delightful staff. Nothing was a problem for them. I loved the room, I absolutely, loved the little balcony so I could have a relaxing drink after my busy days on my course. It's a lovely hotel and very quiet, but also having everything I need which is just a phone call to room service and was always met with a friendly and welcoming greeting. Thank you, Mercure Leisure Lodge for being an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Mecure Leisure Lodge mainly because of its great location and its friendly staff. They were all approachable, down to earth, and very happy to help. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Property: Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#22 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing