We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple offer, but nicely done”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Unusual place, lodge-like appearance, located off-centre, almost half an hour's walk from the Octagon. Everything is spotlessly clean and the staff were smiling and helpful. Bedroom was comfortable and the shower/basin/lavatory ensuite space was modern and well-equipped. Pretty garden; and breakfast offered a wide choice.
The real beef is the poor WiFi, with only the reception areas covered. These days business people need all bedrooms to have WiFi. And the price of the room should cover the cost, too. It is very frustrating to have to buy WiFi in small chunks!
Come on Mercure, sort this out!
But for the unhelpful WiFi situation this hotel would have been 4 stars.

Room Tip: Room facing the garden. No WiFi in most bedrooms, but some service in Room 206, close to reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank satisfacti0n
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is sited in North Dunedin & is very close to the Botanic Gardens but not far from the city centre & only 5 minutes down to the North Road shops where there is a good selection of shops including a supermarket, chemist & cafe. It dosn't take long to get to any of the tourist attractions & only 30 minutes from the airport.
. It has very good free car parking & is set in a lovely garden setting-. being spring,all the flowers are out & from my room I had a lovely view of the garden.
The room was large with 2 queen sized comfortable beds, plenty of pillows & the usual hotel amenities. The bathroom was on the small side but had a good shower.
There are tea & coffee making facilities in the room & a free newspaper is delivered to your door every morning. The restaurant meal was excellent , we really enjoyed the food , as did other patrons dining that night.There is a well stocked bar & nice booths to sit & relax & view the garden. We found the reception & bar/wait staff very nice & pleasant & the room was well serviced every day. There is free WiFi in the bar area for 20 minutes or so but it is very annoying having to trapse up there whenever you want to use the laptop, especially at night. Overall though it is a very pleasant hotel to stay in & I will be staying there again when I visit Dunedin in the near future.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are very convenient but most rooms have a lovely view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsy039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 September 2013

2 night stay in a double room with 2 kids. Rooms are standard size, however a motel would give you more space for the money you pay.
We had to ask for additional towels twice while here and we also asked of any recommendation for places for dinner with 2 kids, but were advised "We have a kids menu". We at here one of this nights and the food was very nice, but expensive.
Car parking was convenient and the bathroom was new and clean but small.
Free WiFi of 8MB....... 8!!! Motels in NZ are leaving the big hotel chains for dead when it comes to this!
Again, seems like you would get better value for money out of your accommodation by staying at a nice motel that is privately run.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The rooms were very good and served their purpose. The location was very good and we had a lovely walk in the Botanic Gardens, which are right next door (about two minutes walk away) before breakfast. Great crepes in the cafe in the Botanic Garden!

The service was very friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend this to friends and happily come and stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guy1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank GingePalmy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
767 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#37 of 61 in Dunedin
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
738 reviews
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#23 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £85 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing