We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful surrounding but bad front staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 26 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Desyap
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Niall-NorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MollyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel earlier this month for five nights on a business trip to Dunedin; I chose the hotel as I am a member of the Accor chain's loyalty programme. I had a pleasant room on the east side overlooking state highway one, which concerned me initially but I can honestly say I never heard the traffic (there did not seem to be much of it). In fact the outlook was more like towards the botanical gardens on the other side of the road.

The hotel is located towards the north of Dunedin and is about 2km from the main CBD (where I was working) so I had a pleasant walk there and back each day. There is a supermarket within about 300 metres if you head towards North-East Valley. The hotel is pretty much the first place you come to when driving south from Christchurch, on the right as you get on the flat after coming down from the motorway. Its location is great for the university (which is where I thought I was working, initially).

The room was an average hotel room, with two double beds, ranch-slider access to a patio, a small table with a couple of chairs and standard bathroom amenities with shower over the bath. The decor was a little tired but all-in-all adequate. The standard of cleanliness was excellent.

I dined in the restaurant several times for breakfast and dinner. The best way to describe the breakfast would be adequate, much the same as most hotel breakfast buffets I have experienced. The dinner menu I found was quite limited but enough choices for the four times I dined with the service friendly and casual.

The only complaint I have is the lamb shank I ordered was not warmed thoroughly, the inside was a little cool, I presume this was a reheating issue as the meat was cooked properly. I mentioned this to the waiter who was horrified and they notified the kitchen.

In conclusion:
Did I enjoy my stay? Yes
Would I stay here again? Yes, in fact I would look forward to staying here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellingtonChris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We only stayed a night due the the location of a function we had. We had a twin bed room which had enough space, with two double beds and two chairs to sit at, more than some! There was also a small balcony to stand on ( as no seating) that over looked the central garden area of the complex. It was a nice outlook and had beautiful bird song in the morning. This was in room 212, which is upstairs. The real disappointment was the lack of sound proofing. The complex is quite dated and lacks modern sound proofing both between rooms and to the outside world. We could hear our neighbours talking very clearly, and they weren't making excessive noise. The complex is right beside the main road into Dunedin, hence there was plenty of traffic noise to be heard. The old wooden joinery didn't help much and needs updating. The rooms were very hot as there is no air conditioning installed. With only one small window that opens, and only a small way, you need to have the balcony door and curtain open to get some cooler air. The bathrooms are very small but functional.
Although not in the centre of Dunedin, the Leisure Lodge is only 15 to 20 minutes walk from the main shopping area and only 5 minutes to a good supermarket and ATM machine just north of the complex.
Having stayed at many, many hotels we felt this was over priced for what you get. Advantages do include plenty of free parking and friendly staff, when actually at the counter!

Room Tip: Suggest an upstairs room with a Garden view as the lack of sound proofing could frustrate with those...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oamaruvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
5.4 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
627 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#40 of 61 in Dunedin
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#23 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £82 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing