We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel With Special Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
London ontario
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Hotel With Special Facilities”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is just a few steps away from down town but offers a special ceremony. It is connected to the hop house that was part of a local brewery. It is in this house that the very special ceremony is carried out.The blessing of the Haggis Also served in the dining area is a full meal that is a complement to the haggis that you can have to sample after celebration of the Haggis. The hotel has modern well appointed oversized rooms that are on 2 floors it has a gym and spa as well as a good quality food in the Grill .The staff was very friendly and more than willing to direct you to some of the many sites in town.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a street side room as traffic runs all hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atravelingsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    310
    140
    30
    15
See reviews for
149
271
55
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a very comfortable & well appoointed room. The hotel is situated just out of town, so one needs a car to get to places.
The dinning room is "comfortable", we suspect the waiters are Uni students !!! but polite.
Front desk staff are very proffessional & helpful.
What more do you want from this type of hotel ??

Room Tip: This is a Mercure you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Located by the attractive Botanic Gardens, this hotel is not central but nor is it very distant from downtown Dunedin. We had a large room with a settee and kitchenette. We particularly liked the bathroom. There was no air-conditioning. There is a main road passing the hotel and we did suffer some traffic noise; fortunately this part of Dunedin is apparently not busy overnight.

Dinner and breakfast were both good. So was service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart Rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A very busy hotel but coped admirably with a number of tour groups during our stay. Restaurant was crowded but did not feel "packed in". Plenty of good food, plenty of staff clearing tables and well run overall. Accommodation clean and comfortable. Position great. Opposite botanic gardens but a bit far from the steepest street in the world if you want an early morning walk. would definately recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is right on the edge of Dunedin and opposite the Botanical Gardens which I have to say were very good. The rooms were clean and tidy and there was a kitchen area with fridge and microwave but no hot plates. Basically good value for the money but only criticism is the free wifi offered. It don't last long!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 320KEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent 2 rainy days and nights at the Mercure. The larger than normal rooms and comfortable furnishings (including a very comfortable bed) made the stay more enjoyable than it would otherwise have been.

While the motel is just off one of the main roads into Dunedin, and only a few minutes from the centre of town, it is nonetheless very quiet. The rooms are built around a large and beautiful lawn/garden area. There is ample car parking space.

Our room was well furnished - including table and chairs and a sofa. Large TV and reasonable range of satellite TV stations. Bathroom was a good size and very clean. Only complaint was the cost of the internet - $30 per day after the first 30mins of free access.

The room cost was very reasonable ($85/night). Excellent value given the size and quality.

We would be very happy to stay here again on our next visit to Dunedin..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed in room 408 for 1 night in Feb 2014. Room had 2 comfortable double beds and was clean and spacious. Outside door on to a garden/courtyard area. Fair distance from the centre of town and located on the main road in to the city but traffic noise was not a problem. Walk across the road to the lovely Botanic Gardens. Had dinner at McGavins restaurant, very nice meal and friendly wait staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
760 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Property: Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#23 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing