We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat & Tidy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    294
    137
    29
    15
See reviews for
140
261
53
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked and paid for a disability room for my son and myself. No one helped us with our bags upon booking in though staff walked passed a woman navigating a wheelchair and carry bags except for a guest who held the door open. Secondly having travelled over three hours and returning home the following day a good night sleep was needed. Unfortunately there staff noises as the room was next to the kitchen and toilets. A truck parked outside our room left at approx. 3am and the kitchen staff were back again early in the morning. I told the reception with a short apology. Again no one offered to assist with the bags or wheelchair upon leaving.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 60sgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureLeisureLodge, Front Office Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
My apologies for not receiving any assistance with your luggage. I have instructed the reception staff to make sure they check if guests would like any assistance. At Mercure we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback in very important to us. Once again I am sorry that your experience did not meet expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for one night. At first we were given a room on the first floor facing the street which was a bit noisy. On request, the staff quickly found us a room on the ground floor in the other wing which is much more quiet. There is no lift, and we really appreciated the staff helping us with the luggage. A lovely garden is right outside of the room in front of you that you can simply take a walk in early afternoon and morning.

Here a special Scottish evening meal was served with bagpipes, great food and special Haggis Ceremony and gift. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

What a lovely place to be in delightful, happy staff clean and so efficient I had a small problem with the bathroom door, when I returned from my day trip it had been sorted. The desk staff were so happy to help. Would I stay again, yes, thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here overnight and I had a comfortable sleep. Good points: clean, just enough space inside the room, two double beds for a standard room could fit a family of two adults and two children, comfortable beds, and a nice garden. Not desirable points: no lifts, so one has to lift their suitcases, free wifi is only 30 minutes at the lobby, and far from the attractions in Dunedin CBD. Thus, you really need a car to explore the city. If there was another option that is better, then I would recommend choosing that option. Otherwise, this should be fine if you don't mind lifting your suitcases.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kapresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Commodore Motel
Commodore Motel
#35 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
0.2 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#4 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Property: Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#22 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing