We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apart from the humming noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Timaru N.Z.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great apart from the humming noise”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Have come from staying one night at the Mecure. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed . Had a great sleep until 5:45 am in the morning when a loud humming noise started what I thought came from the bathroom ducting system ,but seemed just as loud in the bedroom. I rang reception at 6 am and they apologised and said they would see to the problem. 2 1/2 hrs later it eventually stopped. On checking out again mentioned the noise , with no real explanation or apology, we left feeling disappointed with their reaction really.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    306
    140
    29
    15
See reviews for
146
269
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
397 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for three nights in a ground floor room fronting the road but road noise did not seem to be a problem as Dunedin goes to bed around nine PM. However on one night we were kept awake by someone snoring in the room next to us so walls are not to thick. Hotel is outside the CBD in North Dunedin but is right next door to the wonderful Botanic gardens and only five minutes walk to a major supermarket and a variety of restaurants and takeaways if you want to avoid hotel restaurant prices. Complimentary internet not the best because the usage allowance runs out before the 30 minute time period expires.

Room Tip: As no lift ask for a ground floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed overnight as part of a Grand Pacific Tour. The hotel and gardens were set out well and the room was spacious, en-suite clean and bed comfortable. We had a Haggis ceremony at the hotel and it was a load of fun ... was disappointed that the haggis was not served as a meal but on the table with toast to be shared. The buffet meal was average and we had to rush as another sitting was coming in ... the staff were not very helpful or friendly especially when we were trying to find cups for our coffee. Breakfast was a fiasco ... admittedly the hotel had other coach tours but as these would have been pre-booked there was really no excuse for the apparent lack of staff and organisation .... our tour was told we would be in the lobby/foyer but there was insufficient tables/chairs and we were not allowed into the dining/breakfast room, not even to get a glass of juice, in fact the staff member was very rude ... eventually we were allowed in but once again the staff far from friendly and the food very average.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel itself is average but I dont think it claims to be a 5 star so you can overlook that to an extent. I personally had so many problems with the internet I would never stay here again. 30 minutes 30 minutes comes with your room per day, mine ran out in less than 5 minutes and they did nothing to help except offer me the opportunity to buy more. I spent $30 on internet that was supposed to last 24 hours, it didnt and to fix this seemed to be out of the scope of the reception staff. After 3 complaints at the counter without any apology, just basically a 'what did you expect, our internet is terrible' admitted the staff on the desk, they finally got it working. I had wasted so much time by this stage it wasnt worth the effort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysadventuringoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee Why, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've just spent the past month travelling around NZ and this was by far our worst experience in accommodation. Its a very poor standard in the Accor range of hotels. The waiter didn't even ask why we didn't eat our meals (dripping in oil and tasteless), needless to say we has breakfast in town. Our securely locked door flung open in the middle of the night, there was a street brawl for over an hour at midnight. The only ventilation was the window (no air-con) so you had to put up with the noise regardless. Very disappointing!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1.0 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Property: Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#23 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing