We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
NewYork
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Real nice place”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I liked this hotel. Dunedin was a cool place. Do some of the excursions like the penguin or albatross

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallbirdNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    318
    120
    25
    12
See reviews for
109
290
45
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I had a comfortable week here while in town for work. The rooms are nothing special but mine was clean, spacious and quiet. The hotel was pretty busy with a lot of coach trip tourists but I wasn't disturbed or inconvenienced by this at all. The staff were friendly and helpful and my colleague and I were even presented with a red rose on Valentines day which was a nice touch.
I had 4 nice evening meals in the Port o Call restaurant, there is a pleasant bar and cafe on site and the breakfast buffet looked good in the other reastaurant. My preferred breakfast of poached eggs was promptly delivared and nice prepared and presented

Room Tip: I was on the third floor far away from the elevator and it was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oncewerewangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Oncewerewangas,

Glad to read that you rated our lovely Hotel so highly. It is always a challenge to make sure we extend personalised service to ALL guests at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, so it is especially pleasing to read that our usual friendly, and cheery staff attitude shone through especially on Valentines Day ...

We have recently launched a new and exciting menu at Ports O'Call Restaurant and the Ports Team are exceptionally pleased that you could enjoy your four consecutive nights dining with us :-) Breakfast is definitely one of our strong points and glad to hear that your daily poached eggs set the tone for good times in Dunedin!

Yours,

Richard Bungeroth
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were upgraded to this hotel after the one we were booked into had a fire in 2 of its rooms. It was a nice surprise to walk into the well appointed corner room and the views out towards Queens Gardens was a delight.

Bathroom was clean with the exception of mould on the bottom of the shower screen.

The restaurant food was a let down as it was tasteless and bland.

Ask for a corner room on High and Princes Streets.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ch1nadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Ch1nadoll,

Thank you for your above average rating as I see you have posted over 10 previous comments and obviously very well travelled.

Disappointing to read about the mould found on the bottom of your shower screen and you can rest assured that I will pass this on to my eagle-eyed Executive Housekeeper to ensure this problem is remedied immediately. In a similar vein, you can be sure that I will pass your food seasoning concerns on to our Chef for his careful consideration and action!

Yours sincerely,

Richard Bungeroth
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A lesson learned, that does not have anything to do with the hotel, try not to stay in a "city" on a Sunday... it is sleepy and boring.

Hotel personnel were very helpful with restaurant choice and reservation,. Rooms are good; hotel is centrally located!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Only stayed one night. Good location.Guest rooms excellent and modern with all amenities- it was a superior room. Dinner and breakfast very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Staff wrere very friendly, room comfortable and located close to everything. Nice stay

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianMcGinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Noisy room with no views, and the food was cold, both courses had to be sent back.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynotcracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Ynotcracker,

Thank you for taking the time to put pen to paper and sincerest apologies for the poor quality extended to you during your stay with us at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross :-(

Noise can admittedly be an Achilles heel of ours, however, Hotel Duty Management are versed in working around this issue and should we be notified timeously this would mean (subject to availability), upgrading you to a more suitable and quieter room!

I have passed your food comments on to the team and you can rest assured that we will be keeping a close eye on food service temperature going forward so as to obviate this being a problem in future.

Thank you once again.

Richard Bungeroth
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing