We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth it - would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed here in January whilst joining my husband on a business trip. I chose to stay here, and this was a different place than he normally stays while on his own travelling. Although spending a little more than he would normally spend on a bed for the night. I got a great rate on wotif.com which included breakfast for us both, so I felt the overall price was very competitive.

The room was great, the bed awesome, and I am keen to source the feather topper they had on the bed which added much comfort and luxury The pillows were also very comfortable. The extra touch of two sniff boxes beside the bed were very much appreciated.

The bathroom was fine, although I felt the sink area was small, with little room to place the many cosmetics that women like to have. The shower was over the bath, and was fine. Nice quality toiletries were appreciated.

The breakfast was very enjoyable, no complaints at all. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Auckland.

I am rating this based on the price that we paid, and the comfort of the bed, and overall experience.



.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ptbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

The most noticeable aspect of our stay were the outstanding and very genuine staff - without exception in every aspect of this business. Thanks so much. The room we stayed in was quite small with a king sized bed and very well appointed. Lovely sheets and a comfortable bed. Towels a bit old and unfortunately the water pressure in the showered was quite low. Didn't quite have to run around in the shower to catch the water but not up to standard we didn't think. In today's era I do not think you should have to pay for Internet services at a top hotel but you did here.
Food generally in restaurant was generally very good although the " homemade pavlova" left a bit to be desired. By the number left on plates by other guests we were not the only ones. As with everything else the staff handled our concerns outstandingly well.
Good car parking and you felt it was very secure. Again stuff were great out there as well.
To repeat - nothing was too much trouble for the people - fantastic and made our visit totally stress free.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djembewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is my first time staying at Scenic hotel chain & I am glad I chose this hotel. It is south of the Octagon, less than 10 minute walking (leisurely) distance. Most of the shops and restaurants are north of the Octagon. I chose this hotel because of the Casino which is connected to the hotel. There are 2 wings of the hotel. We stayed in a superior room in a newer wing (the elevator is closest to the reception area) for only about NZD$4 more per night.
This hotel is only a 10 minute walking distance from the Speight's Brewery and Cadbury Chocolate factory. Our room was on the 6th floor (top floor), facing Princess street and High street. The room is very spacious and comes with 2 double (full size) beds, a small fridge, flat screen TV, and electric kettle for coffee/tea. The bed was a bit too soft for me but still okay. Internet (wired and wireless) is for NZD$10 for 24 hour use. The reception is pretty fast. One complain is the bathroom sink is very small even though the bathroom is spacious as well.
Guest laundry is on floors 2 and 5 (on the newer wing) and it comes with 1 washer and 1 dryer on each floor. The cost is NZD$3 for each washer and dryer. You have to buy a token with the receptionist. They would give you the detergent as well, however the package was so small that we asked for extra detergent.
The Casino was small but enough to entertain you at night when everything else shut down. Very convenient too as it's connected to the hotel. There are a couple of restaurants & cafe inside the hotel, as well as room service but we did not try them. They have a small gym located in the older wing, enough for a good workout.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer wing for a little more money. You'll get a nice view and perhaps a better room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were just here overnight whilst on a tour of NZ. Hotel was comfortable and food was okay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SixpenceUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Not to bad. Room was looking at a brick wall not that pleasant . Tv was not good at all reception crap and volume was up and down. Wasn't impressed with having to pay $11 for parking overnight! Lady at reception on arrival needed to be a little nicer( it did seem like it was nearing the end of her shift)the next girls on we're lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espresso2all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Beautiful old façade close to the city centre of Dunedin. Behind the façade is a modern hotel with quite standard hotelrooms. The room has standard facilities and is minimalistic, but tastefully decorated. The large king size bed is very comfy and a few steps above the luxury what you normally find in hotels. A pillow menu is available.
The bathroom has excellent quality shampoo etc, but has a shower over the bath without having anti slip or an in-bath mat available, which makes taking a shower a potentially slippery exercise.
The sound insulation of the room is good – no noise from neighbours, nor from the corridor.
Reception desk was professional and very helpful.
I like old hotels with character, so was a bit disappointed to find a modern, relatively standard hotel behind the old façade, but appreciated the good quality of the room and the touches of luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expat_sealover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed for a night unexpectedly and found the hotel to be great.

The rooms were tidy and comfortable but the highlight without a doubt as others have mentioned are the beds! If you could actually lay on clouds I think they would feel like these beds. By far the most comfortable beds I have slept on in any accommodation, in fact they would be more comfortable than my $3k plus bed at home!

The secret seems to be a goose down underlay. Anyway if you like a soft luxurious bed then this is the place!

If you like the odd flutter on the pokies then the casino next door is a bonus. The hotel is pretty centrally located so it's not that far to anywhere.

The Stormers Super 15 team was staying there as well in the weekend so I'd imagine most of the visiting Super 15 teams stay there so if you are a bit of a rugby buff you might be able to snare a few autographs!

Would stay there again if we need somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NesianStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
777 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
746 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#39 of 61 in Dunedin
397 reviews
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Address: 118 High Street | Cnr Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £80 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing