We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good couples weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good couples weekend”
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Well located, car park a bit difficult to navigate, and casino very tacky. But hotel always comfortable and staff helpful

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kairakau50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
I am delighted that you had a comfortable stay. The Casino, although housed in our building, is a separate business to the hotel and so we have no control over this I am afraid. However, I would recommend our valet parking service - just drop your keys into reception when you check in and we will happily park your car for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    321
    121
    25
    12
See reviews for
111
296
45
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Spent 1 night here recently. Location is great and staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was lovely although the bathroom was a little on the cozy side. The bed was amazingly comfortable - like sleeping on a cloud! The only downside is that the walls are extremely thin and i could hear pretty much everything going on in my neighbours' rooms. Great organic shop just across the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berthaandflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Hi Berthaandflea. Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry you had issues with noisy neighbours and I hope it does not deter you from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed in the hotel as a base for Rugby World Cup games in South Island. Very pleasant stay and good location in Dunedin.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapper00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thanks Snapper00. I'm glad you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Was attending the Bed & Breakfast Association Conference which was held in this hotel, so it was very convenient to stay there too, and they gave us a good deal. Hotel is in a beautifully restored all building - very ornate. Excellent location in centre of city - ideal for exploring the city by foot.

Rooms were lovely, with luxurious bedding - except the duvet was too hot! When throwing it off - got cold! No other options of layered bedding available. But overall very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenguruFeilding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thanks for your feedback Reena W, I'm glad you had a good stay. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
286 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, well placed in the city. Good sized rooms with comfortable beds. To be fair, staying here on a business trip, these places are 'much of a muchness' so long as they get the basics right - which this place did.....except for the shower! The lack of water pressure was just frustrating. It might just be a small thing, but guests shouldn't have to put up with this third world, drip chasing shower dance. I won't stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thanks for your feedback Rick M. Following this we have conducted random flowtests on our showers which has highlighted a few areas of concern which we are currently working on fixing. We will continue to monitor the situation in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Great centrally located hotel. Very clean and the most comfortable bed we have ever sleeped on in a hotel. The staff were super friendly and efficient and they offer complimentary valet parking which is awesome. The rooms arent that big but we were there for a function so didnt have to spend lots of time in the room anyways. We will definatly be staying there again on our return to Dunedin. The breakfast was as good as any other 4.5+ star hotel. Highly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellsbytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Glad you had a great stay Wellsbytwo. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Spent 1 night here on a room only basis on our way from Te Anau to Christchurch. Reception staff were helpful & courteous.

Room was 496, tastefully decorated, comfortable and with a nice bathroom. View was nothing to write home about but then we were out exploring. It's just a short walk down the main road to the Octagon. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by. I particularly liked the New zealand made toiletries that were provided, they were of a very high quality.

All in all a brief but enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street | Cnr Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing