We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I recommend this hotel for its professional, courteous service. The staff is most helpful. The rooms are great. A draw back is the shower over the bath.There are no electric blankets but the beds are warm and cosy.

Room Tip: The rooms over the car park are quieter on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.

Despite most of our rooms having showers over baths, we have a number of rooms with walk in showers in the bathrooms. We would be only too happy to accommodate a request for one of these rooms for you next time you stay with us.

I look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    321
    121
    25
    12
See reviews for
111
296
45
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

From the moment I arrived I had a great impression of this hotel - the staff are very attentive and helpful. My room was really nice - modern decor, comfortable chairs. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept in - I agree with other reviewers - the down mattress toppers are like sleeping on a cloud! The bathroom was dated with a very small sink and a large handrail in the shower didn't leave a lot of elbow room.
I also had a day of conference at the hotel - again the staff were very friendly and helpful.
This hotel is located close to the Octagon with plenty of restaurants and entertainment within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezza-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your lovely comments. I hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

There two weekends in a row. Good location to stay with easy parking. Easy walking to town centre where there is lots of eating places to chose from. Well presentated warm and comfortable room with king size bed. Staff were very professional but friendly. Nothing was a bother.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and it is always very rewarding to hear directly from our guests as to how professional and friendly our team is.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Staying in the heart of the city this Hotel must have the most comfortable beds in the country. The food is awesome and the staff are great thoroughly reccommend this hotel. So close to the Octagon and central city bars although the in house bars are great. Then the Casino in the same building is a bonus if you want to try your luck. Give this hotel a try Im sure you will love.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest

It is always fantastic to hear how much our guests have enjoyed their stay. Your review is wonderful and the entire team will enjoy receiving your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future.

with best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

excellent stay for value, loved the service of all staff and great set out of hotel.
Would definitely stay there again and again.
rooms were great with exceptional quality of bedding!
really great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving such wonderful feedback. I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the near future.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

excellant location and the staff are friendly.the beds are very comfortable and will be going back there again next time I go to Dunedin.Park your car outside and the hotel staff will park it for you.It is $11.50 well spent.Double glazing and excellent heating kept the cold away

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest
Thanks for the fantastic feedback. I'm glad you had a great stay. Good advice about the valet car parking - it is all part of the service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the near future.

best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed for one night for business.
Rooms were top quality
Amazing goose feather pillow top mattress cover, had a fantastic sleep.
Had dinner in the bar, was very nice and relaxing to unwind after a days driving
Only downside was having to pay to park my rental car at the hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_dudeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us on your last trip to Dunedin and thank you for writing your review. I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay - our feather bed toppers get many great comments and help make the beds extremely comfortable. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed a good meal in the bar - just one of our catering options here at the hotel.
As we are a city centre hotel, parking space is at a premium and, like many of our competitors, we do have to pass on a small charge of $11.50 to guests wanting to park their vehicles overnight. I hope that this charge did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay too much and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future.
With kind regards
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street | Cnr Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing