We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Very good place to stay and have done so a number of times. Good sized rooms, always quiet in my experience, very comfortable beds, good pillows, lovely towels and toiletries. Staff welcoming and helpful.

I usually eat breakfast and other meals elsewhere although have had reasonable meals at Casino upstairs (especially in winter when pie is very good) and downstairs restaurant (now closed and served in bar) used to be good. Breakfast service in cafe can be slow.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoy your stays with us. It is particularly pleasing to hear how our staff are so welcoming and helpful.

I am sorry that you usually choose to dine out. Our Port's O' Call Grill Restaurant has closed for now but the Carlton Restaurant is open with the same high quality dining. In fact, we recently have taken on a new chef and the feedback we have received is that the food is better than ever. Alternatively the Port's O' Call Bar has a very good menu - more of a casual pub food selection. Hopefully we now have something for everyone.

The Carlton Restaurant is open every day for breakfast and has both a full buffet and an A la Carte selection. I also promise to review the service speed in the Cafe and see what can be done to speed this up.

Thank you for continuing to stay with us and I hope to see you again soon. In the meantime have a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

With best wishes

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

We had a lovely weekend at the Southern Cross Scenic Hotel. The staff were fantastic and friendly. The location was great, as was the service and food at the restaurant. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and roomy. I have already told lots of people about how good our weekend was.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I am very pleased you had such a wonderful stay. I hope to see you again in the near future.

With kind regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well positioned for city access. The room was very comfortable with excellent bed. The whole place was clean and inviting. The restaurant was superb. Great food and some of the best service I have encountered, as well as being very obliging to our late change of the reservation time. The only niggle was the quality of the in room coffee. It was truly awful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much - particularly with regard to the restaurant. We have recently had a change in Chef and it is pleasing to note that his cooking is being well received. I will also pass on your comments about the service to the restaurant team - high praise indeed.

I was sorry to read though that you did not enjoy our in room coffee. We offer fresh coffee in plunger bags and we have two sizes - one suitable for a mug of coffee, to be used rather like a teabag, and the other suitable for the small plungers that we have in each room. This coffee offering is designed to have the quality of fresh plunger coffee with a greater level of convenience. I will certainly review the quality of the coffee and will discuss this with our Group Procurement Manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Dunedin and the Southern Cross Hotel is by far the best. Nice clean rooms, very comfy beds, friendly helpful staff, great restaurant and bar and close to the city, what more could you want. Special thank you to Carol for helping sort out a new room for me when I my work had unfortunately booked me into a single room. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Dunedin. It is wonderful to hear that you rate the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross as the best hotel in Dunedin and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Staff were fantastic, beds were great, rooms were clean.
It was lovely to have an option to take a relaxing bath. Breakfast was superb!
Cant wait to go back!
The package deal of free internet and breakfast and carparking was the best deal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you had such an enjoyable time whilst here on business. It sounds as though you were on our CBD package which is available until the 20 January 2013 and is great value and includes all the things you mention. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

the beds are so soft,just right .our privacy was respected.,their wasnt any noise it was nice and dark in the room at night,the breakfast was lovely, if there is a problem the management sort it out right away.,our whole experience was excellent and because of that we wii be back.

Room Tip: all good rooms. have stayed on different floors all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsh516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for staying with us here at the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you will stay with us again. We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We loved the bed. It had some kind of a feather bed on top of the mattress. We loved it so much that the next morning we called up and asked for a late checkout so we could stay in ing longer.

The buffet breakfast was very nice and the staff were lovely.

The room was very well appointed and there was actual vanity space in the bathroom - a first on our trip.

Valet parking would have helped.

We would have liked to stay at this hotel for longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeber55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross when you visited Dunedin. I am glad that you had such a good experience when staying with us and it is wonderful to hear another great comment about our beds.
I am sorry that you missed out on the valet parking. This service is always available and you just need to leave your car out the front of the Hotel and we will take it and park it for you so that you can just relax in to your room.

We hope to see you again soon.

With best wishes

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#35 of 61 in Dunedin
399 reviews
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Address: 118 High Street | Cnr Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £77 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing