We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 out of 10 - Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“10 out of 10 - Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed recently for one night on a Weekend Escape Deal with a one night stay in a King Superior Room and Breakfast. Everything about the stay was wonderful. Check in and Check out was fast and hassle free, the room was wonderful, large (Room 110) with a fantastic shower, the bed was the best we have every stayed in, and there was absolutely no noise - it would have been the best night sleep we have had away from home....... We ate in the Port O Call bar and the food (burger and lamb) was wonderful, and the bar was a great place to relax after a hectic day.......Breakfast was (again) the best we have had - the selection amazing (we ate towards the end of the breakfast time, and sometimes selections can be limited at that time, from expereince in other similar places we have stayed)....Perfect Poached Eggs!

Room Tip: Our room (110) was large, quiet - perfect for a stay of one night - or longer.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Guest

It was wonderful to read your review and hear about what an enjoyable time you had had with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know. We hope to see you back here in Dunedin sometime in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    318
    120
    25
    12
See reviews for
110
290
45
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This is a nice hotel. The staff are friendly and the rooms are very good. As a corporate traveller I have stayed here several times in the past and always experienced great service. The one thing I would like to say is that the beds are too soft for my liking and I think it is because the mattresses need replacing. I have experienced soft beds in every room I have stayed in, in this hotel. This can make longer stays uncomfortable if you require a decent nights sleep. However, they do have a good range of pillows.

Room Tip: Don't get a room which is adjacent to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VonDutch1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for continuing to stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you had had another enjoyable stay although it was not so great to hear that the beds are not to your satisfaction. We regularly get very favourable comments about the comfort of our beds, helped by our fantastic Goose feather bed toppers. If you advise us on booking or if you would like to email me directly (adrian.clifton@scenichotels.co.nz) I can try and ensure that a firmer option is provided for you for your future visits.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the near future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

First time stay due to sister hotel - our usual choice- being full. Overnight stay. Concierge very accommodating from arrival to departure. Bathroom clean but in need of updating! Shower control kept moving! Noisy until 2am. Room service good. Ate in Port o Call - food good.

Room Tip: Furthest away from lifts, function rooms and casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley1962642254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for continuing to support Scenic Hotels.
I am glad that you had an enjoyable weekend although it seems we still have a couple of issues to work on. Being a city centre hotel we suffer a little from noise from outside the hotel. We do try and keep this under control and our night staff are instructed to take whatever action is necessary to try and keep this to a minimum.

Many thanks once again and we hope to see you back at the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future.

with kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Having scoured the internet for accommodation in Dunedin ( hard to find anything above 4 star other than the Castle) I settled on the Scenic, as it did look the nicest out of a very small selection that is on offer in Dunedin.
Receptionist was lovely, efficient and quick.
Our room, a twin tower suit, was on the 6th floor facing the setting sun. This normally I wouldn't mention, however, it was February, the sun sets late in February, they had had a string of 25+ days. Our windows didn't open ! and the most ridiculous of all, NO air-conditioning ??? The second floor to our suit,did have a sliding door, however this was the lounge room and the bedrooms were down stairs. So the bedroom remained VERY stuffy and warm. They did bring up two fans, but this just blow the warm air around. As the room is also very narrow the whole atmosphere was somewhat claustrophobic.
After going out for a couple of hours sightseeing we were hopeful the temperature would have reduced, but no, worse. So I sent my husband down to enquire about a solution. The lady who's name escapes me ( so sorry ) was lovely and she up graded us to the Presidential suit. This was a much bigger room, well rooms actually and was on the 3rd floor on the other side of the building, so no setting sun issue to worry about. Still no air conditioning, however the windows opened !, which made for a lovely cool breeze. However this also at 2am let in alot of load yelling from the random pub/casino leavers ??
The food was lovely in the restaurant, the waitress's were very friendly and efficient.
The toiletries and towels were very nice!
To be fare, I think Dunedin itself needs a total upgrade, not just this hotels need to have air-conditioning. The city/town appears to have had NOTHING done to it since the early 80's which gives it a very run down sad look and feeling. Would I come to Dunedin again... probably not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the setting sun and on a lower level. These rooms are cooler on the odd hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you did not completely enjoy your stay in Dunedin. With the likes of Otago Peninsula with all it's wonderful scenery and wildlife, Dunedin's historical buildings like the magnificent Railway Station, two top class museums amongst many more attractions I would hope that there was something for everyone.
It seems you were here over a particularly hot period and I must apologise for the temperature in your room. However, I was very glad to read that our team had managed to find you suitable alternative accommodation in the hotel and it was particularly pleasing to read how friendly and helpful our team was. I will be sure to pass on your comments to them.
with kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

My partner and I purchased a "pride of the south" package for $160 per night. This included a superior king room, breakfast and two tour tickets the Speights brewery. Very nice rooms, comfortable beds and great location. Bathroom was slightly dated but nothing wrong with it. Happy helpful staff. We did ask to receive the free paper in the morning unfortunately it didn't come. We also missed the fact that you must hang a sign on your door if you want the room serviced. Very happy with the package price and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSmith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here on the Pride of the South package. We regularly update our packages and our aim is to have great value packages which will suit everyone - no matter why you are travelling to Dunedin.
You highlighted a couple of service issues. Please accept my apologies for this. I will work with our Front Office Manager to ensure our procedures are tightened up so that this does not happen again.
Thank you once again and I hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times now and we really enjoy it. Everything is clean and tidy and I have yet to find a more comfortable bed. Road noise is minimal and there is a decent selection of channels on the TV with the option of purchasing some movies. Mini bar is well stocked and of course if you are hungry you can just order room service or go downstairs to the restaurant. Because of it's location it's also easy to walk into town to find other eating options. Bathroom is well stocked with toiletries and my only gripe would be no type of extractor fan in the bathroom.

The buffet breakfast is very good with loads of options and it all tastes good. Some great deals to be had on their website where you can get breakfast,parking and accommodation for a good price.

The Casino is basically on site so going for a little flutter is also possible if you are so inclined and the food is also good in there.

We will in no doubt be back for a few nights in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NesianStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your latest review of the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross. It is wonderful to see our guests return and I was very pleased to see that you had another enjoyable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back next time you stay in Dunedin.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

We've just stayed three nights and couldn't fault this hotel, the service or the value for money.

Our room was large, clean and well-appointed. We bought the "Splash of Romance" package and the staff made us feel extremely welcome and were very attentive.

We'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you had such a wonderful time whilst staying with us. We hope to see you again sometime.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing