We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jean T - Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We only live 11/2 hours travel from Dunedin and when we feel the urge to get away we always opt for the Southern Cross in Dunedin. Great to be so close to the Casino and shopping. Very good deals for Casino members which makes it very affordable for the average income. The rooms have been very tastefully decorated and the beds are soooo comfortable. A very special touch with the toiletries and very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Jean

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. It is always wonderful to see our guests return and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

With kind regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

The Southern Cross has grown in all directions and includes an historic building from the late 1800s, a 1960s 6 floor building purpose built, another building next door which was purchased and renovated, and some additional building on the back. We stayed in one of the rooms in the 6 floor building facing High St/Princes St. The rooms have been renovated well - excellent beds, good desks with a useful power strip, nice furniture. The bathrooms are small compared with what one would expect nowadays in a top hotel - but in other parts of the hotel it is better. There is no aircon, just heating. Normally not an issue in Dunedin but when we stayed it was warm and we had to have the window open at night, and there was a lot of street noise as drunken folk left the hotel's casino. Lucky we always have earplugs with us. The Exchange area where the hotel is located is a bit of a barren wasteland as everything has moved to the George Street end of town, but it is easy to walk and handy to the Railway Station for the Saturday market, Toitu museum (amazing), Chinese Gardens, and Cadbury Factory - as well as the Octagon. Speights Ale House is close but you're better off for the money going to the new Mac's restaurant and bar in the Octagon. Parking is very limited and some very tricky spots for larger cars. Staff were all very pleasant and breakfast very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was very pleasing to hear that you would choose to stay with us again.

As you mention, there are some tricky spots for parking larger vehicles but we recommend that guests take advantage of our valet parking service which is included in the overnight parking charge - this way you can just drive up to the front door and leave the rest to us.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Visited Dunedin as a Queensland Reds supporter primarily to see the Highlanders vs Reds Super Rugby match. Stayed two nights so that we could also do some touristy things on the Saturday and Sunday. Very satisfied with the quality of our room and its furnishings, and also pleased with the excellent location of the Hotel. Generous and reasonably priced continental breakfast included cereals, fruits, breads, and hot fare such as bacon, eggs, hash browns etc. Would have liked internet connectivity to be included in the room tariff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Graham,

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us whilst here on your rugby trip - it seems we were also very accommodating with the result too! I hope you managed to get out and about and explore Dunedin fully. It is a lovely little city and has something to offer everyone.

Don't forget that the Scenic Group has a number of hotels throughout New Zealand all offering the great service and value that you experienced here. We hope to see you again.

With kind regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel room was well appointed and had plenty of room. The sample of Cadbury chocolates was a nice touch and the toiletries were fabulous. The staff were friendly and helpful and it made my stay in Dunedin special.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda_harkins57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Linda,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross on Tripadvisor. It sounds as though you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay which is great to hear. Hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Worth booking package that includes breakfast and parking and basically getting a free breakfast. Comfortable room and reception prepared for us.

Check hotel website for deals that match wotif proicing and saving wotif service fee

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disappointedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and it is good advice to monitor our website for the best possible deals.

Many thanks and I hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed 2 nights over Easter for conference. Had excellent $99/night deal but would have paid more. Room a decent size, with way better beds than a certain far more pricey French hotel chain and equivalent if not better decor. Restaurant was elegant, staff friendly, location excellent.
One downside (due to location not the hotel) was a bit noisey from drunks on Princes St etc early hours.

Room Tip: One tip...dont pay for overnight parking, you can usually get a park straight across the road for fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pritchard8024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and thank you for staying with us this Easter. It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed only one night but had a great time , Wonderful service great staff , food was beautiful, had a great time , room was amazingly clean , a fresh , loved the little exta bits that make you feel special.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Liz

Thank you for taking the time to write your reveiw. It is wonderful to hear that you had such an awesome time whilst staying at the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross. It does not look as though you have travelled far either so hopefully we will see you again soon!

With best wishes

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#20 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
301 reviews
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Address: 118 High Street | Cnr Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#12 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £102 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing