We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally situated in Dunedin” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Centrally situated in Dunedin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This Hotel specialises in tour groups so there is always chaos in the reception area. Rooms are OK and it is just a three star Hotel in a town. There is a valet car parking services which is helpful. Breakfasts were boring so we went out.

Room Tip: I think that higher up is preferable and not on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very for your review. I am sorry that you found the Reception area chaotic with our Tour business. This should not be the case as we would normally expect to be able to look after our Tour business as well as our other guests without compromising our standards. Our systems must have fallen down on this occasion and rest assured I will investigate further to ensure that this does not happen again.
I am glad that you found our central city location excellent and our valet parking service useful.
Many thanks for staying with us and I hope to see you again some time.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    306
    115
    25
    12
See reviews for
102
280
45
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my boss when down for work over night. Great room, breakfast & staff. Great location as can walk everywhere from hotel = to restaurants and to our work which was nice to be able to do. I would say this is one of the better hotels in Dunedin as its such a small city & tends to be bit outdated when it comes to having business travellers to the city. This hotel seemed better deco & service so I would recommend it over other ones.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 70HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. I am extremely pleased that you had a pleasant stay and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Dunedin.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Friendly staff, comfy bed and nice restaurant. Definately go for the cooked breakfast - bacon / mushrooms / eggs, awesome!
Only minor negative is that the restaurant is a little chilly in the evening - would recommend an additional layer while dining...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 312MichaelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you found the staff friendly, the bed comfortable and an awesome breakfast. Sorry about the temperature of the restaurant for your evening meal. I suspect that the air conditioning was turned down too low and I will pass on this comment to the Food and Beverage Team to ensure that this is monitored more closely.

I look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed for 3 days in March during double header Rugby weekend, hotel was a max capacity but awesome atmosphere, The Warriors stayed as well making the stay all the more special. Cool little bar in the hotel as well as casino where we had a great time and a good meal. Beds were very comfortable, some street noise at night but the town was packed so was to be expected I guess. Staff were very helpfull. we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 448mikej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest

I was very pleased to read about how you enjoyed your stay with us when the Warriors were in town. They seemed to be travelling with a lot of their fans and I hear there was a great atmosphere at the game. There was certainly a great atmosphere here, as you mentioned, and I am delighted that our high standards were maintained despite being so busy.

Thank you for writing your review and thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again some day.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have stayed in this hotel before and was not very impressed. On this stay however, I received a great room in what appears to be a newer wing of the hotel. The room was clean and well appointed. I ordered room service one night and thought the menu was extensive and good value.

My only criticism is that o the Sat I was out of the hotel all day and returned at 3pm to find my room was still not cleaned from the night before. The housekeeper arrived soon after and asked if I would like my room serviced. I declined as I needed to shower and leave again. I thought the room should have been serviced prior to then. They must have been short staffed on that day.

The in room WiFi options were very good and at a good price. I choose a 'family plan' that let you register up to four devices for the one rate. this plan was cheaper than most hotels have for a sub standard service for one device.

Room Tip: There appears to be a 'new' wing to this hotel and these rooms were very modern and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBrendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Brendon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that your stay was a big improvement on your previous visit and that you had an enjoyable time. I wonder how long ago your last stay with us was as all our rooms are furnished identically and so I am surprised that you found such a difference between the two wings.

I must apologise for not being able to service your room before 3pm - I understand how frustrating this must have been. This is certainly a rare event and I can only assume that our Housekeeping team had a much busier than expected schedule that day.

Thank you, once again, for staying with us. I hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We only live 11/2 hours travel from Dunedin and when we feel the urge to get away we always opt for the Southern Cross in Dunedin. Great to be so close to the Casino and shopping. Very good deals for Casino members which makes it very affordable for the average income. The rooms have been very tastefully decorated and the beds are soooo comfortable. A very special touch with the toiletries and very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Jean

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. It is always wonderful to see our guests return and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

The Southern Cross has grown in all directions and includes an historic building from the late 1800s, a 1960s 6 floor building purpose built, another building next door which was purchased and renovated, and some additional building on the back. We stayed in one of the rooms in the 6 floor building facing High St/Princes St. The rooms have been renovated well - excellent beds, good desks with a useful power strip, nice furniture. The bathrooms are small compared with what one would expect nowadays in a top hotel - but in other parts of the hotel it is better. There is no aircon, just heating. Normally not an issue in Dunedin but when we stayed it was warm and we had to have the window open at night, and there was a lot of street noise as drunken folk left the hotel's casino. Lucky we always have earplugs with us. The Exchange area where the hotel is located is a bit of a barren wasteland as everything has moved to the George Street end of town, but it is easy to walk and handy to the Railway Station for the Saturday market, Toitu museum (amazing), Chinese Gardens, and Cadbury Factory - as well as the Octagon. Speights Ale House is close but you're better off for the money going to the new Mac's restaurant and bar in the Octagon. Parking is very limited and some very tricky spots for larger cars. Staff were all very pleasant and breakfast very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was very pleasing to hear that you would choose to stay with us again.

As you mention, there are some tricky spots for parking larger vehicles but we recommend that guests take advantage of our valet parking service which is included in the overnight parking charge - this way you can just drive up to the front door and leave the rest to us.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#14 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing