We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We love staying here as the g
Rooms are generous and very clean, and the staff are wonderful. The food is great...no complaints at all.
It is very convenient to central Dunedin, so in easy walking distance to almost everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest

We absolutely love getting great feedback from posts such as yours! It makes us even prouder to do the job that we do. We're so glad you love staying at the Southern Cross Hotel and are very grateful that you have taken the time to add a reveiw.

Look forward to hosting you again soon
Warm regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    331
    121
    25
    12
See reviews for
113
299
45
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Generally a good place to stay - rooms a little dated but generally good and clean. Free internet should be provided at the prices they charge for a room of this standard / age. Free internet is the modern day equivalent of having a TV in your room in my opinion. All hotels should offer it as a matter of course given the amount of people who use it and the cost of providing it these days..........
Also the toilet did not flush properly leaving paper in the front part of the bowl.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with our internet provision. We offer the very competitive rates of $10 for 24 hour unlimited access for laptops and $5 for smartphones and tablets. This is secure and supported access and is very competitive compared to other Hotel chains within New Zealand.

Also thank you for your feedback regarding the bathrooms maintenance issue I have made sure to get this checked out and dealt with where necessary.

Thank you once again and I hope to see you back at one of our Scenic or Heartland properties sometime in the future.

Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Reading, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I highly recommend this hotel for service, outstanding quality, and comfort. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable in any hotel I've stayed in (out of hundreds)! Staff at reception was very welcoming and friendly. The retaurant is superb for style, presentation, food, and service. Will definitely go back and will recommend to everyone!
I consider this 5 star at very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your highly complimentary comments regarding the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross we're so glad you enjoyed your stay so much and will be returning and recommending us to others. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Back two years on from my last stay and not much has changed. Considering the 4+ star rating the hotel's room are tired with stained carpet and obvious wear in many places. Too specific points I want to make most of all. 1. my toilet had not been cleaned and there was still unflushed urine in the bowl. Not nice! 2. the bed was really lumpy. They use thick woollen underlays which make the bed bulky and uncomfortable to sleep on. Two years ago, I made the same complaint to reception and posted the same comment on Trip Advisor but nothing has changed. Each of my colleagues made the same comments. You can't fault the location but the rest is well below the quality I have come to expect from a 4+ star property

Room Tip: Ask them to remove your underlay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bravo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post a review and give us your feedback we really appreciate this. Secondly our apologies that you did not enjoy a stay with a better outcome. We would really like to get to the bottom of these operational issues, therefore if you would like to contact me as per my previous message I would really appreicate the time so that we can
ensure these issues are dealt with appropriately.

Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

An absolute fantastic location. We walked to all places of our interests without much difficulty.
Hotel concierge, breakfast reception named "Sarah" and housekeeping cleaning staff however were poorly trained, improvement badly needed. The concierge staff was not able to provide information on train station, restaurants etc, my 11 year old was able to google it within few minute for the info I was put on hold for longer than 20- mins for.

Hotel room was kept tidy but floor was never vacuumed for almost our entire 4-days stay.

Breakfast was simple and basic. The Filipino waitress was very friendly however a receptionist named "Sarah" was very rude. She demanded for us (hungry adults and children anxiously wanted to go out) to stand until she sorted the bill. When I suggested us be seated first signing later, she denied and showed a tense and long face. I also overheard her telling other waiters and bus girls off quite loudly. A rather unpleasant beginning of the day!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are glad to hear you found the location of the hotel 'absolutely fabulous' for your needs and to see the city.

Alternatively I am saddened and surprised that we were unable to provide you with the same level of service in those other areas highlighted. As you can see from previous reviews we pride ourselves on trying to offer service that goes the extra mile. Rest assured I will be investigating into these matters and making sure that any necessary retraining is provided.

Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel following a night time cancelled Virgin flight. The staff did a fabulous job of handling a stressful situation. There was a large degree of confusion regarding alternate flights the following day, and through the night the Manager worked tirelessly to try and work things out with the airline. He did a fabulous job making a stressful situation for a plane load of passengers as stress free and comfortable as possible. Comfy beds, great buffet breakfast and staff that definitely go the extra mile. I usually don't stay here when in Dunedin, but the management were so fabulous it's definitely my new Dunedin accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellergirlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear guest

We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay and are so glad we were able to make a stressful situation that little bit more manageable and comfortable. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to hosting you again next time your in Dunedin.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Geeat hotel, really conveniently located, conmfortable, well appounted, fantastic staff, and great food.
You even get a little bag to take home you unused toiletries in!
All of which is why I keep going back.
Graeme Purches
TrustPower

Room Tip: Main wing is quieter unless you have a room on an inside wall. The local council has a noisy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Graeme

Thanks so much for posting a review for us, it means so much when one of our longest staying valued regulars can let the world know what we have to offer and why it is you keep returning. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street | Cnr Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing