We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Rangiora, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome :)”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

our experience was very awesome. convenience of having the casino right next door where we became members to take advantage of 10% discount on meals and drinks. the staff, from reception area to the cleaners were of a very high standard. they were very polite and helpful. thankyou very much for your hospitality and would recommend staying with you :)

Room Tip: we had the 6th floor, with a view of the harbour :) noise does not bother me so much however we coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0GHS-reunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest

Your very welcome and thank you for such great feedback, we're so glad you had an awesome time and would recommend staying at the Southern Cross Hotel to others.
I'm also happy to hear how polite and helpful and of a high standard you found our staff to be.

Thanks again and look forward to having you back in the future.
Kind Regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    318
    120
    25
    12
See reviews for
109
290
45
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It was my second stay at that hotel and I was really impressed this time. Everything was high-quality, amazing room - complimentary upgraded, really nice staff. I spent wonderful time during my birthday.

I definitely recommend that hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: I know that some rooms may be slightly less impressive, so book directly through the hotel to get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacek_Cw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hi Jacek

Thanks again for your email and for posting such a great review we really appreicate it. And I'm so glad you had such a good time on your Birthday this stay.

We look forward to hosting you again next month.

Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Extremely helpful staff provided excellent service. Conveniently close to the Octagon. We booked adjoining rooms with interconnecting doors which worked well with the kids but a mistake on my part when we booked meant our room had two single beds instead of a queen. A quick chat to the duty manager and the problem was sorted. This hotel has the most comfortable beds in New Zealand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 539Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest

I was so happy to hear you found ours to be "the most comfortable beds in New Zealand" Wow what a compliment thank you! We really appreciate your great feedback and are so glad you found the staff extremely helpful during your stay and that we provided excellent service to you and your family.

Thanks so much for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks as we were attending a course.

Good location, mind you although Dunedin may be the fifth largest city in the world by land size, most places will still have a central locality because the "utilised" city area is not as big as the actual area.

Average size rooms, comfortable bedding, welcoming staff, limited facilities.

Neither over not unimpressed . Value for money is good.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DoctorTTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent long stay we appreciate your time. I'm glad to hear you found the stafft to be welcoming while you were here and the location and value for your money good.

We hope you enjoyed your course and time in Dunedin and hope to see you back again in the future.

Warm Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place was awesome. The hotel was very nice and the rooms were fitted out beautifully. Everything felt new and unused which is always nice, The bathroom was spotless and came with more towels than i have ever seen before.

I can't recommend this hotel any more! We will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest

I was so happy to read your post it made my day! We are really proud of the hotel it is "awesome" and it is fantastic when our guests are equally as impressed. We are glad you found the fit out to be beautiful and the feel of the room new, our signature Scenic bedding and refurbishments are a real asset to us.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time
Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Excellent Hotel in Dunedin. Central location, friendly staff, beautiful decor. We enjoyed our short stay at The Southern Cross. The room we stayed in was spacious and great value for our family of 4. My husband was very keen to go on the Speights Brewery Tour and was delighted to discover the brewery was only 100 metres down the road from the hotel. Whilst we didn't dine at the hotel, I did take notice that the restaurant prices and room service prices were more than reasonable. If returning to Dunedin in the future, we would most definitely stay at the Southern Cross again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your great comments regarding your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you found the Southern Cross to be an excellent hotel in Dunedin and found the rooms to be great value. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you would stay with us again next time you are in Dunedin.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My first time in Dunedin. Lots of good places to eat and some really beautiful old buildings. I believe I was in the older section of the hotel on the Casino side. Room was a bit dated but comfortable. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Continental breakfsat selection was good. I was surprised that there was not a safe in the room. I had a problem with my laundry - I told the front desk I had a bag in the room and was assured it would be picked up. Even the room cleaners left it behind. I would stay there again if in the area but it is average to good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting feedback for Scenic Hotel Southern Cross we appreciate your comments. It's great to hear you found our continental breakfast selection good and the staff pleasant and helpful. Our Front Office Manager is looking into the issue regarding the laundry collection, thank you for bringing that to our attention we will make sure this is rectified.
I'm glad you would stay with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing