We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Osmotherley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and excellent location”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Very convenient location near the Octagon area for restaurants.
Staff friendly and helpful
Room very comfortable and spacious.
Highly recommend if wish to stay in the city
Also recommend trip to Portobello and the peninsula. Very scenic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Ian

Many thanks for your review of the Southern Cross. I'm happy to hear you found us to be in such a convenient location for your stay and that you found the rooms to be comfortable, spacious and the staff friendly and helpful.

Many thanks and we hope to host you again in the future.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    321
    121
    25
    12
See reviews for
111
296
45
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Greatly enjoyed the food - both breakfast and dinner. And the rooms were located in an adjacent building, but quiet and just a bit compact, very nice though. A hallway successfully joins the buildings, and the casino is on the main floor, in an area "between." Dunedin does have its ups and downs; but with just a little attention to directions, the Scenic Southern Cross is in a great location, easily accessible to the heart of the downtown. I'm not sure how couples might fare, as compared to travel groups, but this hotel certainly did an excellent job waiting on our large (50) group, and seemed not to be "exhausted" or singly focused on groups as they served the room of dinner guests. The hotel may be in two buildings, but the staff "holds it all together" quite well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch-MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback, we are delighted to hear that you greatly enjoyed the range of food offered for breakfast and dinner and found our loaction easily accessible to the heart of the city.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your tour and hope you make it back to Dunedin in the future.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was disapointed with the size of the room and the view. The location was perfect with lots of things to do around the hotel. The room is average and looks old. Nothing special about this Hotel. Scenic Hotel are more suited for groups than couple. Groups often have priority over the rest of us for breakfast. I have stayed at two other locations in NZ and would not recommend this chain for couple. There focus is more toward bus group than individuals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linequiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
352 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Finding a park was like playing Monopoly - everywhere you went, someone else had occupied the spot. A confusing lay-out. Front of house service was efficient without a hint of a smile. No friendly welcome or attempt to engage. Check out experience was no better. Very impersonal. Got the job done. Room was relatively small with a very comfortable bed. Good in room facilities except for a lack of any air conditioning. Room was overly warm and the only option was to open the window - not a good idea as it was raining heavily and the noise levels were high. Bathroom was quite small with very little bench space, but the shower was good. Would use the hotel again, but would adjust my expectations. Got the job done.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PedroNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed for 12 days and found it was close to plenty of restaurants and services. Just a few blocks to 'The Octagon' in the central core of town.
Room was clean and spacious. Will return when coming back to Dunedin. One hour of free internet wireless is continuous time and seems to be adequate but makes checking email more than once a day a challenge. 60 minutes sweating counting down as soon as your sign on.
There was a fire alarm one night that required evacuation but after fire department confirmed no fire, we were all allowed back in without any delay. False alarm. Can't be helped but inconvienent none the less.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your post we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We're glad you found the location of the hotel convenient to local restaurants and services and your room to be spacious and clean.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We received a complimentary upgrade to a suite but judging by the photos on the hotel website, the other rooms look a lot more modern and better furnished. We found the suite cold and dark with dull furniture and a scruffy kitchenette. It was not worth the bother of going upstairs as it was more comfortable to lounge on the bed and there was no view to look at.
The heating was not on when we arrived and despite turning the heater up, we could not get it to work. There were no instructions in the room so we had to call the front desk. After being chased, a man eventually arrived with a spare heater and turned the thermostat up which had the desired effect. A note in the room to explain what to do in this instance would have prevented a lot of discomfort and frustration after a tiring day of travelling.
Things we didn't like were the slow flow of water from the taps in the bathroom and the kitchenette and having to pay $12 for car parking.
Things we liked were the complimentary toiletries, comfortable bed and pillows and the good location, just a short walk from some good restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback we appreciate all comments as this gives us a great insight into what our guests enjoy and in what areas we can strive to improve on.

We are now implementing heating instructions into all rooms to ensure that our guests do not encounter these difficulties again.

Many thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Have stayed here on and off for as long as I can remember. Rooms are comfortable and clean and well set out. Would not opt for a lower floor again due to street lighting. The gym is adequate.
What I particularly dislike is how these hotels are now charging for parking. As a guest expect this to be part of the service when paying for accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbags4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stays at the Southern Cross Hotel. We are very grateful to have retained your business for so many years and are happy to hear you find our rooms comfortable and clean.

Thanks again and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street | Cnr Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing