We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveller rating
312
362
135
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
362
135
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetsuperior roomtour groupcar parkcomfortable bedcentral locationper dayhotel restaurantnice roomnew zealandspeights brewerygreat place to stayfree wifieasy walkstayed for one nightrailway stationvalet parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 846 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

What a marvellous place to stay... That is what I told myself when arrived at home. Lovely hotel with good staff working to provide with good services. Walking distance to the octergon the city centre. Unfortunately didn't dining, but breakfast is outstanding.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank RLdragon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest

I was delighted to hear that you found our hotel lovely and so too the staff and services. And that you enjoyed an outstanding breakfast with us.

Thank you kindly for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We found the staff are friendly, helpful and always welcoming with warm greeting. Receptionist, porters take pride and caring, and provide great customer service. The meal serve in the Carlton restaurent is value for money, we enjoyed our dinner. Not forgetting, the room is clean, the bed is so so comfortable. We wish that we could take home the bed with us..!



Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dharama S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for your fabulous review of the Southern Cross! Indeed we do take care and pride in our product and the customer service we provide our guests, and it's great to hear when this is noticed and appreciated.

Thanks and hope to have you back again soon.

Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. Interesting room layout with the wash basin out in the hallway of the room, but didn't matter too much. Nice facilities and I liked the free limited wifi. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougieNZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our free wifi offer and facilities.
Delighted to hear that you will definitely be back with us again.

Kind Regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great location, nice competent efficent staff.
Rooms good size. Have stayed here before and enjoyed it. Didnt use facilities this time( restaurant and gym ) but they looked good.
Casino was good for some unwinding.
Would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndySouthland_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your great post of the Southern Cross Hotel; we really appreciate your time. We were so glad to hear that you woud reccommend us to others and that you found the staff to be competent, efficient and nice and the rooms a good size.

We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Kind Regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We arrived late and the staff were wonderful. The rooms we had were large and comfortable. nice and close to the shops, so close you can walk. we didn't have time to use the gym or go to the casino but will do next time. The staff are knowledgeable and helpful and nothing seemed too much of a big deal. We will recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest

Your review is greatly appreciated, thank you very much. We're glad you found our rooms to be large and comfortable, and was great to hear how wonderful, helpful and knowledgeable you found our staff to be. Delighted to hear you will reccommend the Southern Cross to others.

Hope to host you again soon, kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews