We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great breakfast at very reasonable price. Go for the full cooked breakfast. Very good quality food. Rooms were in good condition for age. Could do with renovating. This is silly having to have a minimum of 200 characters for a review!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review for us...we appreciate the 200 characters ;-) and are glad you enjoyed a great breakfast and found it to be reasonably priced.

Many thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    312
    119
    25
    12
See reviews for
104
287
45
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I hate to say it but i was less than impressed by this hotel considering it gives itself a 4 star rating. When I entered the lobby and walked up to the receptionsit she did not even glance at me once whilst she was on the phone and kept me waiting for quite some time. Once she got off the phone she did not even apologise for keeping me waiting. This is not acceptable to me as the front face of the hotel. The room and the bathroom were both quite small you couldn't even sqing a cat! The only saving grace for this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 433Ester1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest

My apologies that on this occasion we were unable to live up to our usual high standard of service. Please rest assured that we take your comments very seriously and will be looking into the matter fully in order to rectify the issues you encountered to make sure this does not happen again. We take a lot of pride in having received out 4.5 star plus Qualmark rating and want to make sure that we live up to it.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide us this feedback.
Kind regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Fantastic location, in the heart of the shopping and touring! It was a bonus to have a casino on-site!
The place is clean, quiet, and convenient. The only (slightly) negative part was the parking...they have their own lot, but it costs $12/night, and it was extremely challenging to get in or out as the key cards for the rooms did not work in the machine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback of the Southern Cross we really appreciate it. We are very lucky to be so conveniently situated amongst the cities local tourist attractions and shops and I'm glad to hear how fantastic and handy you found this for your trip. I very much hope you enjoyed your time in Dunedin and New Zealand and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel, old but well cared for, clean and well located. We were able to walk just about everywhere we needed to go, especially the central "Octagon" of the town. Our room was large and on the front of the hotel, but being on the 6th floor, the noise from the street was not a problem. We were in a group which was handled very efficiently by the hotel. The only unusual thing about the room (and others also found it so) was in a really good sided bathroom, the sinks were really, really small, making it difficult to manage toiletries and wash out socks. Breakfast was good with plenty of selection and good service. Wifi was limited. We took our devices to the Octagon and the library which had free service. We had dinner both nights at the hotel casino which had specials that were more reasonable than the local restaurants and which was quite good with excellent table service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

We're so happy to hear how lovely you found the Southern Cross whilst on your tour. And glad that you found our location so convenient and that your breakfast and service whilst dining with us was a memorable experience.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your tour of New Zealand and have a safe journey home.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent one night here as part of a group tour of whole of New Zealand. Very efficient staff and good, well presented meals from the kitchens. Hate buffet meals with a passion but here all are looked after as individuals. Most impressed

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for your recent review. I was delighted to read how impressed you were and that you found the staff efficient and your meals good and well presented I will make sure to pass this onto the staff.

Hope to see you back again at the Southern Cross in the future
Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed for one night for business found the staff to be very friendy and helpful. Batteries were dead on the TV remote but the staff were there in a jiffy - with wine :) Loved having Coffee bags in the morning.
Well situated hotel but the carpark was confusing and a nightmare to get out of - Trucks etc parked everywhere!
The Breakfast was lovely and the staff wonderful. Nice coffee

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for your complimentary review of the hotel, we really appreciate your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed our coffee and breakfast selection and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I was also glad to hear that we were able to rectify the issue with the tv promptly, please also note that we are currently working on our carparking situtation to make this more user frinedly.

Many thanks and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is our favourite place when we visit Dunedin, Have stayed here many times. Value for money & good location. In our room bed was very uncomfortable, needs replacing, Car park needs serious attention.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrowtownpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest

So nice to hear that the Southern Cross is your favourite place to stay when visiting Dunedin! Coincidently we are currently in the middle of looking at the two areas of concern that you mentioned so thank you for your feedback.

And we hope to welcome you back to the Southern Cross again soon.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing