We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Nearby Hotels
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Dunedin(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amross Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel on York(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
97 Motel Moray(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Kiwis Nest(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartments at St Clair(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
315
364
136
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
364
136
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetsuperior roomtour groupcar parkcomfortable bedcentral locationper dayhotel restaurantnice roomnew zealandspeights brewerygreat place to stayfree wifieasy walkstayed for one nightrailway stationvalet parking
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I'll go back to this hotel time and time again, simply for the bed. Quite simply, it's the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.

The hotel is great. Everything from the location to the quality of the rooms is ideal, and the rooms are quiet and modern.

Probably the only downside is the size of the basin in the bathroom, which was tiny, but I guess every hotel needs room for improvement.

At any hotel you're paying for the bed, and this one has the best. What more do you need to know?

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter, but the higher up the better the view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Southern Cross it was a delight to read. We have received so much great feedback regarding our signature Scenic bedding (feather toppers) that are now throughout all our Scenic properties and we never get sick of hearing what a great nights sleep our guests are having.

So thank you again and we hope to host you again soon.

Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Reception welcome was excellent from Lea and other receptionists. Martin an excellent concierge. Room very clean and tidy. Poor lighting for working at night. Breakfast food was very well presented and tastey. Evening meals were good but more of a variety would be great.
we feel based on a national scale of travel across New Zealand at 4 and 5 star hotels, this accommodation is over priced, maybe due to demand !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smileypower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for your review and constructive feedback, we really appreciate your comments and will be sure to pass on your thanks to Lea and Martin and the rest of the team for their great service.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

the bed was the most comfortable i have ever slept in. room was very warm and quiet well worth the money for the kind of room i was in (standard king room). front office and the restaurant staff were great. location was very convenient as it is located in town ideal for window shopping and etc

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swax23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great comments about the Southern Cross we really appreciate the feedback. We were delighted to hear how great you found the staff and that you thought the room was warm, quiet and value for money.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Only an overnight stay that was slightly confused by the fact that there is another Scenic Hotel in Dunedin just round the corner. This hotel is the one next to the Casino.

Excellent room and painless check-in and check-out. Did not stay long enough to make any other sensible comments apart from the fact that the parking for hotel residents should be complimentary.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PIGASIMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent review, we appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback. I'm glad to hear you found your room excellent and that your experience upon check in and out was seamless.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ and are able to return again.

Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Check-in was easy, all neccessary info was relayed to us, car parking, gym facilities, places to see and eat.Easy walk to a couple of blocks to main shops. Room was spacious and recommend a King size bed anyday. Good value $ compared to other places we looked at before choosing this Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Southern Cross we're delighted to read your comments.
Glad to hear your check in experience was smooth and you found the room spacious and value for money.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews