We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not relaxing, not pleasant. Go elsewhere.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Governors Cafe

Governors Cafe
Ranked #155 of 325 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not relaxing, not pleasant. Go elsewhere.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I don't think the staff want to work there. I ordered a coffee (no food was available as this place stops serving food one hour before it closes) and the manager thumped it down in front of me. She seemed to be really angry about something and proceeded to bang the outside sign into a chair twice, flung a metal coffee container onto the floor, and was screaming at the staff to "stop swearing".

Would not go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    11
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Busy cafe with ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Popped in for lunch on a rainy day. It was busy so we had to share one of the long bench tables. Had to wait quite a long time for our coffees and food. We only ordered things from the cabinet- a panini and a roast vege salad but for some reason it took a long time to microwave and toast these things! I was about to offer my services to heat them up myself when they finally arrived at our table. The food and coffees were nice enough but nothing great. Later some guy who was cleaning up our table knocked a fork on to the ground and was quite rude about it. He looked stressed and like he couldn't wait for the day to be over.
Wouldn't go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgibbon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“reliably rude service, average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was one of the first customers at this place when it opened several decades ago. I have since gone back a few times when I visit Dunedin. Unfortunately I have found the service to be reliably rude. The last time I went the person opening the cafe more or less slammed the door in our face, apparently not liking my query as to whether they were open (they opened 15 minutes late). The food is average. I would say if you can find somewhere else, then do. I assume they will keep getting customers since they open for much longer hours than most Dunedin cafes in the area, and they have been around for a long time. However, there are nice places to go in Dunedin which will give you great coffee, nice food and welcoming NZ service. In my recent experiences (of more than one visit) Governor's is not one of them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cgibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgibbon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food but reliably rude service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have visited this cafe a few times when visiting Dunedin. It seems to get good custom by opening for longer hours than most of the restaurants and cafes in the area. It is also on the main street.
However, I have found on both my recent visits the staff were downright rude, and we would have left both times except that we had been waiting outside for it to open. They opened 15 minutes late and the woman opening (who seemed to be the manager) then virtually slammed the door in our faces, apparently irritated by my asking if they were open.
I wouldn't go back for that reason alone, tho I am sure they will continue to thrive through tourist trade.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cgibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food.... awful service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

A good cafe when they get your order right...which is around 80 percent of the time... this gets frustrating and ruins what would otherwise be a 4 or 5 star review as the food and coffee are good

Also... would it hurt to clear the tables every now and then. Several times I havr been in here, the place is almost empty, thr staff arr just standing around, and yet therenis nowhere to sit because every table is covered in dirty dishes.

The staff can be a bit surly making you feel guilty you disturbed them to make an order.

Maybe a little staff training is needed?

Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Governors Cafe also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Governors Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing