We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price and yummy meal”

Saigon Van Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 346 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable price and yummy meal”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Cheap lunch and very satisfying. Big portion of food.good value for money.fast service and the atmosphere is good. Recommended for lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fready P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    3
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Authentic Vietnamese Food!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Having been in Vietnam for several wks 2yrs ago we absolutely love their food! This is the closest to Authentic Vietnamese cuisine we have had since our holiday there! Yummo!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not value for money ”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed. The mains we chose were $22 each but were not worth that much. The meals were small and were not the exciting complex Vietnamese dishes we had hoped for. The previously highly rated rice wrap spring rolls were stogy and tasteless. However the staff were very pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A good but not stunning meal”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Service was good and a fair price. Setting is warm and welcoming. We had the set menu for 4 which was varied. They had no Vietnamese beers in stock, the food helpings were not very generous and flavours seemed very subdued compared with my prior experiences of Vietnamese food but I wonder if it is "toned down" for local tastes?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Jane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Great service and excellent food, very tasty. A favourite place for me to eat. The food is not pretentious with simple and delicious flavours. I always enjoy a meal here, crispy spring roles are great! Crispy ribs were divine ^_^ .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimnyg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saigon Van Restaurant also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Saigon Van Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing