We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accomodation for a family”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel on Carroll

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel on Carroll
Ranked #50 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accomodation for a family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We decided to visit the coldest place in NZ during the coldest time of the year! A bit crazy but 10 Trinity motel catered our tired bodies and gave us great advice on other places to explore. Service was amazing and the rooms are warm and comfortable. It was the only accomodation that offered a family room (we are 6) at an unbeatable price! I loved the fact that it is a few minutes walk from the Octagon as we got to enjoy some family time while walking and the bonus of shedding a few kilos. Will definitely return and reccommend this fabulous motel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DtheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    19
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
19
21
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We chose to stay at Trinity Court as it is just one block away from Dunedin's fencing club where this year's U15 & U17 Nationals were being held.

The accomodation was 'cheap and cheerful' and of course very conveniently located from our point of view: 2 minutes to the tournament venue and about 10 minutes stroll to the Octagon. It has a large lounge/dining room at the end of the motel, which would be useful for larger groups wanting to eat together.

The manager was really helpful - extra milk and a roll of duct tape we needed to prepare foils for the competition appeared in our room after I asked him where I could get some!

The first night was very quiet, the next two less so as the motel filled with lots of other fencers. The walls are not sound-proof.

The motel offers breakfast, although we choose to make our own or eat at the great cafe beside the motel. Lone Star is just across the road for evening meals and there's a great takeaway pizza place - Momma Mia Pizza - 5 minutes walk away at 74 Crawford St (it doesn't do deliveries). A good selection of both vegetarian and meatlovers pizzas.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantT92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

After reading the positive reviews we were quietly optimistic about staying here and we didn't have too much choice as everywhere else we had tried were fully booked, because of the Rugby. We were greeted by the manager who was charming, friendly and gave us lots of useful information about what to do and see locally. It is really hard to be critical when someone is so nice to you but like all my reviews I believe in being honest and describing my personal view on a property.
The room was dated and looked more like a student bedsit than a motel room. It had a tiny kitchenette with fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle etc. but had use of a big communal room and kitchen.
We had a large LCD TV which had the basic channels no SKY, heater. Wifi was unfortunately chargeable at $10 for 500mb which was cheaper than some other places, but would have been better if free.
The bathroom was horrible the sink was minute and difficult to use, the shower floor was “soggy” It felt like you were going to fall through it but it was probably the floor coating separating from the actual floor, the manager said that someone had flooded the bathroom and he was waiting for a quiet period to sort it out.
We were very grateful of the heater as the room felt cold.
The bed was soft and not particularly comfortable for me.
The worst thing about this place was inadequate soundproofing as we were able to hear TV, showers talking from other rooms and I was disturbed on numerous occasions during the night by noise from inside and the road outside, when I mentioned this to the manager he blamed the Rugby!, however the road noise is evident pretty much all the time.
The location of Trinity Court was ok but not great, however many of the other motels are nearer the university at the other end of town which is just as far from the centre and most are on busy roads.
It was a fair walk to the intercity bus terminal and the rail station, we ended up getting a taxi as it was raining when we arrived and it cost $10.
I suppose this is what you get in NZ for $99 per night but for the same money in the UK you get a lot more.
We were able to leave our bags after checking out which was really good.
This was our least favourite place we stayed during our 8 weeks in NZ.
In summary really nice manager, but not a great place to stay, especially if you like a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

our stay at the trinity court motel, was quiet, but at the same time it was awesome! the manager there was soo friendly, the lounge there was so relaxing, the rooms were nice ans spacious, and everything you needed, was there. Its really nice there, im looking forward to going back there again.

Room Tip: rooms on your left when you come in the entrance is nice and spacious,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Spending a month travelling around New Zealand for the Rugby World Cup meant we were in Dunedin for 2 matches (to support England). The location of Trinity was great - quiet location with private covered car park yet easy walking distance to shops and restaurants etc. A Lone Star restaurant across the road so no need to go into town for the evening if feeling lazy.
We were greeted by Tissa with a warm friendly welcome and given loads of local information as we were travellers new to the city. He is also very knowledgable about the areas of interest around South Island. He was a star and helped us park our campervan too.
Our room was not big but had everything in it - tv with several channels, heater, hair dryer, equiped kitchenette, a sofa and a very comfy bed, and spotlessy clean.
There is also a lounge with books, tables to eat at and cookers if you wanted to prepare and eat a meal. Also has internet access.
It's not a 'pretty' motel but that really doesn't matter when the service and facilities etc are so good.
I reccommend this motel and would stay there again if we ever went back to NZ.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberpuss47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

having look for accommodation for the world cup and there being
a shortage ,we were very happy to find the trinity court .we booked on line and
the replay was prompted .On arrival tissa the owner was more than helpful the
car park was of street and safe .the rooms were clean and warm,
there is a full kitchen and internet, and with in ten minutes walk of town
its was ideal ,would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbier69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We booked rooms here for our visit to Dunedin for the Rugby World Cup. Tissa was extremely prompt and helpful in communications and gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived. He was always very helpful during our stay. The accommodation was good value for money. It was warm, clean and comfortable and the location very convenient. There is secure on site car parking if needed. There is also an excellent cafe on the corner of the street which serves a wonderful breakfast and The Lone Star bar/restaurant across the road with very friendly staff serving meals until late evening.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loobyloo-Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#53 of 57 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#35 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#44 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel on Carroll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel on Carroll

Property: Motel on Carroll
Address: 10 Carroll Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Trinity Court Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel on Carroll 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Motel on Carroll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing