We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel on Carroll

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel on Carroll
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Darfield
1 review
“Wow”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Well where do I start, I think I would have had better stay in a run down wool shed, the location is terrible would feel warmer and more accepted in Compton, the room hadn't been cleaned from the group before us and for what we got it was extremely dare.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    18
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
19
21
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill NZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

For $110 a night, I would have expected a finished motel room. And one that didn't smell of fresh paint. It advertises no steps or stairs, but had a steep as driveway. Very, very cold.

I started getting a headache from the paint fumes, and opened up the tiny little window in the kitchen. And after 3 hours it was still pretty intense. My partner and I ended up going out, to get away from the smell. There was a vent labelled as 'Natural Fresh Air' but it appeared to be doing nothing.

When we got there, the new owner was fitting the switches back to the wall in the bathroom, there was no mirror on the wall, and the vent over the shower was filthy. I went to take a shower and the floor felt like it was going to cave in! The tap in the bathroom sink was faulty too.

The room was bloody COLD. And the hallway was cold. Over-all the place was pretty damn depressing.

Trying to get back into the place using the tag was a pain, it didn't work first time, or even the 30th time. The intercom didn't appear to be working either.

I would value the stay here at $65 a night in its current state, but not $110.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomez_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
310 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This motel is close to the octagon a 10 minute walk and a 5 minute drive to the supermarket, there is free undercover parking and secure. The bed was comfortable and the warm was warm. There was a small kitchenette provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I arrived at the Trinity Motel which is situated in a dying part of town.
Lots of business have closed in this area.

I arrived at reception and booked in, the reception person could not wait to get me pay for the accommodation.

I was shown to my room It looked like I had stepped back in time to the 1960's.
I checked the TV and found that the reception on some of the channels was poor and to add insult to injury there was no Sky (pay for view TV )

The bed was uncomfortable it seemed it felt like it had been there since the placed opened.

The shower water pressure was poor and the floor around drain felt like you fall through.

The cost for the room was $130 per night which is over priced, this is a backpacker site at best and should be charged at that rate $40-$60 per night.

On the positive side the room was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We had a fantastic time staying here. The motel staff were lovely, the rooms were fantastically clean and it was in a very central location. Next time we decide to do a roadie to the South Island we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed a few nights in this motel and it suited our requirements, the manager was extremely pleasant and helpful. The room that we stayed in was clean and tidy but was very dated. Cooking facilities were minimal although there was a seperate kitchen/dining area that all of the guests could use. I think that the walls must be quite thin, as noisy neighbours could be heard quite easily. The heating was by fan assisted electric heater, this I found great ,it was so quiet compared with the normal air con found in many other places. The undercover secure parking is quite an asset for this motel as is its proximity to the town centre. For a budget motel the Trinity Court is worth checking out.

Room Tip: Like any motel, check the room first if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjan2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We decided to visit the coldest place in NZ during the coldest time of the year! A bit crazy but 10 Trinity motel catered our tired bodies and gave us great advice on other places to explore. Service was amazing and the rooms are warm and comfortable. It was the only accomodation that offered a family room (we are 6) at an unbeatable price! I loved the fact that it is a few minutes walk from the Octagon as we got to enjoy some family time while walking and the bonus of shedding a few kilos. Will definitely return and reccommend this fabulous motel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DtheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#54 of 58 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
0.5 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#44 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Commodore Motel
Commodore Motel
#37 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carisbrook Motel
Carisbrook Motel
#40 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel on Carroll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel on Carroll

Property: Motel on Carroll
Address: 10 Carroll Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Trinity Court Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel on Carroll 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Motel on Carroll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing