We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to it's mission statement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 59 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Close to it's mission statement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Their mission statement is to be the best B&B "in its price range". They do adjust prices according to the level of demand, so check first, .. but we had a king size ensuite room for a very good price which included a good continental breakfast (no eggs) and fast free wireless internet. The accommodations are clean and fairly basic: no frilly comforters and piles o pillows, but everything you need. We most liked the location, which is a 5-8 minute walk from the Octagon, which is a center of some bars and restaurants with sidewalk seating in good weather.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    53
    28
    15
    13
See reviews for
9
68
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights, and found it pleasant, quiet and offered a nice breakfast. However, I hate sharing bathrooms, especially when the lock down stairs is faulty. A guest accidently walked in on me and needless to say I was not impressed (not the guest's fault) but clearly the owners are aware of this issue as there is another hook type lock higher up the door. Replace the faulty lock people! So you have to remember to always take your hand towel to the toilet also, as you will have wet hands after using it, bit of a hassle for me.
However, I found the B&B convenient and very reasonably priced for what I needed for the week. The heaters in the rooms warm up the room very quickly and I loved that because Dunedin can be very cold in the winter.
I totally loved the 2 cats, who kept me company every night, they are so friendly and clearly used to meeting lots of different people. This was a major plus for me, as I am such a huge animal lover.

Room Tip: probably choose one of the upstairs rooms, as it is much quieter up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Only a few minutes walk from the octagon. Clean and tidy. Colonial charm especially with the turret room. Staff were friendly and helpful. The Internet access was good. Although the bathroom was small but nonetheless tidy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having stayed a Hulmes Court B&B in 1999 and then again last year it appears this once cared for flower has withered and died. Hulmes is now just a dozen years older and the wear and tear is showing looks like a full refurbishment is needed.
Run more like a hostel than a B&B it lacks personal interaction now.
If you are looking for a genuine B&B experience then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get the best room or look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ss1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

NZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed one night and really enjoyed it here. Walking distance to downtown. The house is quite a piece, with its 3rd floor turret. Don't be put off by the steep hill, as there is flat off-street parking. The room was lovely with nice period decor. A nice change from the modern hotel / motel look.
We had a shared bathroom which was fine. Everything was clean. "Solstice" the big black cat is very friendly (he would have spent the night on the bed if I had let him). The included continental breakfast was very good. Friendly hosts. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go_to_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife & I made a quick trip to Dunedin to see family. We stayed at Hulmes Court and found it delightful. Very central, within walking distance of most of Dunedin, and reasonably priced. Breakfast was basic but adequate. Norman, the host, and his helpers were very friendly & helpful. Would go back again.
Dave & Gill.

Room Tip: Some rooms have own bathroom, others share (cheaper). All are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

All of the poor and terrible reviews are accurate. This place would be a poor venue for backpackers. It relies on its outside appearance and overhyped blurb. I fail to see why anyone would visit twice. Very disappointing when compared with the other B and Bs we stayed in while in NZ. It is up for sale and the new owner would need to invest at least 100,000 dollars to bring it up to scratch. B and B should be run hands on by the hosts. This is not and it shows. Find somewhere else in Dunedin and you won't regret it.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#35 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#40 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bard House B&B
Bard House B&B
#13 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chapel Apartments
Chapel Apartments
#7 of 59 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast
Address: 52 Tennyson Street | Central, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hulmes Court, two historic homes next door to each other a few minutes walk from the visitor centre. Norman owns an advertising company, is interested in history, philosophy, geography and stood for parliament twice and is well travelled. However, Norman at 37 and his staff (local university students) are youthful, intelligent, educated and friendly. We have a cool black cat called solstice. Plus you have free use of our internet, laundry, off street parking and mountain bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hulmes Court Hotel Dunedin
Hulmes Court b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing