We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A villa past its glory days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This B&B is a villa where a well to do family used to live. Every room looks a bit different and the whole building is quite unique. Such a pity to see it in such shape and as B&B. Also outside it is not taken care of, tons of fruits are falling from the tree and left rotting on the ground. Basic breakfast is served in a common area where a selection of movies on VHS tape (cannot even remember when I last had a VHS in my hand) can be viewed. So the place offers a nostalgic trip into a past time. There are some cats around in the house, so if you have allergy, beware.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Dunedin is not well known for the quality of accommodation, but the Hulmes Court B&B stands out as one of the best choices in the CBD.

The property is located 5-min walk from the Octagon, on a quiet street at the top of the hill.
There are two buildings, we stayed in the lower one, which is surrounded by shady NZ plants.

The decor is old fashioned, but it is more interesting than any normal hotel.
The room was enormous, with high ceilings, a modern TV, electric blanket, air con and tea/coffee. The bathroom had a large bathtub (NB. not all rooms have ensuite bathroom)

Breakfast was generous, although there was no hot food such as bacon/eggs.

This B&B is the perfect starting point to explore the city of Dunedin as well as the surrounding areas. We used the nearby i-Site to book our activities.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acarb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Their mission statement is to be the best B&B "in its price range". They do adjust prices according to the level of demand, so check first, .. but we had a king size ensuite room for a very good price which included a good continental breakfast (no eggs) and fast free wireless internet. The accommodations are clean and fairly basic: no frilly comforters and piles o pillows, but everything you need. We most liked the location, which is a 5-8 minute walk from the Octagon, which is a center of some bars and restaurants with sidewalk seating in good weather.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights, and found it pleasant, quiet and offered a nice breakfast. However, I hate sharing bathrooms, especially when the lock down stairs is faulty. A guest accidently walked in on me and needless to say I was not impressed (not the guest's fault) but clearly the owners are aware of this issue as there is another hook type lock higher up the door. Replace the faulty lock people! So you have to remember to always take your hand towel to the toilet also, as you will have wet hands after using it, bit of a hassle for me.
However, I found the B&B convenient and very reasonably priced for what I needed for the week. The heaters in the rooms warm up the room very quickly and I loved that because Dunedin can be very cold in the winter.
I totally loved the 2 cats, who kept me company every night, they are so friendly and clearly used to meeting lots of different people. This was a major plus for me, as I am such a huge animal lover.

Room Tip: probably choose one of the upstairs rooms, as it is much quieter up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Only a few minutes walk from the octagon. Clean and tidy. Colonial charm especially with the turret room. Staff were friendly and helpful. The Internet access was good. Although the bathroom was small but nonetheless tidy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having stayed a Hulmes Court B&B in 1999 and then again last year it appears this once cared for flower has withered and died. Hulmes is now just a dozen years older and the wear and tear is showing looks like a full refurbishment is needed.
Run more like a hostel than a B&B it lacks personal interaction now.
If you are looking for a genuine B&B experience then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get the best room or look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ss1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed one night and really enjoyed it here. Walking distance to downtown. The house is quite a piece, with its 3rd floor turret. Don't be put off by the steep hill, as there is flat off-street parking. The room was lovely with nice period decor. A nice change from the modern hotel / motel look.
We had a shared bathroom which was fine. Everything was clean. "Solstice" the big black cat is very friendly (he would have spent the night on the bed if I had let him). The included continental breakfast was very good. Friendly hosts. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go_to_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#49 of 61 in Dunedin
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#37 of 61 in Dunedin
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#32 of 61 in Dunedin
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#25 of 61 in Dunedin
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast

Address: 52 Tennyson Street | Central, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £53 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hulmes Court, two historic homes next door to each other a few minutes walk from the visitor centre. Norman owns an advertising company, is interested in history, philosophy, geography and stood for parliament twice and is well travelled. However, Norman at 37 and his staff (local university students) are youthful, intelligent, educated and friendly. We have a cool black cat called solstice. Plus you have free use of our internet, laundry, off street parking and mountain bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hulmes Court Hotel Dunedin
Hulmes Court b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing