We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 59 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

very close to the city with excellent staff. nice breakfast good range of food. good eating nearby and close to the octegon area. comfortable bed, place well kept. good library of books available to read, free to air tv with afl football showing,

Room Tip: great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    54
    28
    15
    13
See reviews for
9
69
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were over half way through our NZ trip staying in B&B's all the way when we stayed here. It did not compare to all the others where we had stayed yet was of a similar rating. The building was in need of redecoration and the room was very tired and dark and the ensuite dingy at best. The breakfast was help yourself from a counter service area with no cooked option available and jam, spreads, milk etc were in their containers rather than nicely presented in bowls/jugs. There was no personal interaction with the owners/staff unlike at all the other b&b's we had stayed. It felt like a downmarket impersonal hotel although its location was excellent. It was just a short walk into the main square and a huge variety of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Room was large and clean. Centrally located but still quiet. Friendly welcome. Fast internet. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was very average but I thought good value overall and would stay here if I was in Dunedin again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellersussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I was staying at the books room, which was great. If you are a book lover, you will greatly appreciate staying there. Every evening I read about the history of New Zealand, which enhanced my travel.

The location is good, quick access to city centre. However, I found Dunedin and Otago peninsula to be boring, wouldn't recommend spending more than 2 days.

There is a free unlimited wifi and free laundry. Very nice. Nevertheless, in my room the wifi signal was weak, but possible to use.

I had some opportunities to speak with the hosts, and it was quite pleasant. I also spoke with the night manager, Suwen, and it was nice as well. Everyone was nice and polite.

I felt like I was staying in a house, which was really nice. The place really has a relaxed atmosphere. The cats are friendly and cute.

The shared bathroom was clean and had a new shower installed. However, the sink was broken, which is a bit disappointing.

The only real weak point is the breakfast. It was quite dull. No eggs, no sausages or bacon. Thus said, there were free fruits at any time, which is good.

Overall, that's a really nice place, especially if you want a cozy feeling of staying overnight at someone elses house. And its definitely a good value over money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We had higher expectations for this B+B given the nature of the heritage home. But it felt tired and impersonal and not what we've come to expect in B+B's.

We were in the chocolate room in the building adjacent to the main building. While spacious, the sheets were thin and well worn and the ensuite smelled damp and musty. The ensuite had a door to an adjoining service space and the sounds of laundry machines and workers could be heard at all hours. Fortunately the noise did not extend to the bedroom and did not interrupt our sleep.

It appeared the WiFi was also delivered from the main building, which made it all but useless for us.

One of the great pleasures of B+B stays is the ability to interact with the owners, usually during breakfast. That experience was lost in this case, and in the end our stay was no better than any in an average 3 star hotel.

On the upside, it has a great location with easy walking access to the octagon and downtown restaurants.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
599 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

This B&B is a villa where a well to do family used to live. Every room looks a bit different and the whole building is quite unique. Such a pity to see it in such shape and as B&B. Also outside it is not taken care of, tons of fruits are falling from the tree and left rotting on the ground. Basic breakfast is served in a common area where a selection of movies on VHS tape (cannot even remember when I last had a VHS in my hand) can be viewed. So the place offers a nostalgic trip into a past time. There are some cats around in the house, so if you have allergy, beware.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Dunedin is not well known for the quality of accommodation, but the Hulmes Court B&B stands out as one of the best choices in the CBD.

The property is located 5-min walk from the Octagon, on a quiet street at the top of the hill.
There are two buildings, we stayed in the lower one, which is surrounded by shady NZ plants.

The decor is old fashioned, but it is more interesting than any normal hotel.
The room was enormous, with high ceilings, a modern TV, electric blanket, air con and tea/coffee. The bathroom had a large bathtub (NB. not all rooms have ensuite bathroom)

Breakfast was generous, although there was no hot food such as bacon/eggs.

This B&B is the perfect starting point to explore the city of Dunedin as well as the surrounding areas. We used the nearby i-Site to book our activities.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acarb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#33 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#42 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bard House B&B
Bard House B&B
#10 of 59 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chapel Apartments
Chapel Apartments
#6 of 59 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast
Address: 52 Tennyson Street | Central, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hulmes Court, two historic homes next door to each other a few minutes walk from the visitor centre. Norman owns an advertising company, is interested in history, philosophy, geography and stood for parliament twice and is well travelled. However, Norman at 37 and his staff (local university students) are youthful, intelligent, educated and friendly. We have a cool black cat called solstice. Plus you have free use of our internet, laundry, off street parking and mountain bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hulmes Court b&b
Hulmes Court Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing