We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great.”
Review of Cable Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cable Court Motel
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Gracemere, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great.”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Recently stayed two nights in a family room which was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Some fast food places a short walk and a great Indian Restaurant around the corner.
On a road that does get busy but no traffic noise.
Our room had a kitchenette but we chose to eat out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenslander1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    50
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
45
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The motel was clean, tidy and very good value. The room was large, sky TV on offer and nicely furnished. I selected it to be near to my daughter's flat but that was my mistake as the motel is situated in the middle of the student flat area and is a place to be avoided during Orientation week. The noise from the numerous parties in the vicinity made if difficult to avoid an interrupted nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJEHarpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

my group stayed in a one-bedroom and lounge unit with an adjoining one bedroom to accommodate the 4 of us. The units were absolutely clean and the kitchen was stocked with tea and coffee fixings. The beds were comfortable but the bar across the street caused a bit of night time noise. Don't stay on the street end and you won't deal with that.

The location is good as there are eating establishments in the near area and the museum is within easy walking distance. The only negative was the front desk hostess who was perfunctory and not very helpful, which was unusual for a Kiwi.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

When we were here the hotel was undergoing some renovations, but this was done without any inconvenience for the guests.
The room was of nice size and clean. It is just a 15 minutes walk to the town centre, where you can find all the shops and restaurants . Nearly in front of the hotel is the campus of the University. You don't like to walk ... MacDonald and KFC are just around the corner

Room Tip: Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Do the boattour with the Monarch directly from the oldharbour of Dunedi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This motel looks lovely from the outside, and the reception area is modern and tasteful, but we were very let down by our room its self.
For a start, first impression was the staff, who were brittle, unfriendly and brisk in their approach. This was quite a shock to us, as we are used to encountering helpful, friendly folk in the hospilatility industry. The bathroom in our unit was very damp, smelling strongly of meldew, and in dire need of an upgrade. There was very poor cleaning in the entire unit, with visable black dirty bits ingrained into the corners and into the bathroom flooring. there was a very uncomfortable bed, with terrible pillows, and difficultilty getting to sleep at night was made worse by very close proximity to main street traffic noise. Although a non~smoking room, the room smelled strongly of cigerette, and upon opening the sliding door to the tiny balcony, we found discarded cigerette butts, along with the thick dirt, leaves and bits of rubbish that dont appear to have been cleaned away at all. A very unsatisfactory presentation overall.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Adequate size room. Standard motel configuration. Bathroom needs upgrading, Kitchenette good. Pillows on bed very poor--no support. Communal laundry facilities poor, 2 washers, 2 driers (both domestic size) for over 20 rooms. All windows dripping wet on the inside in the morning. Great food, great prices at the Pub in the next street. I'd probably spend $10-$15 at one of the many other accommodation places close by if I was staying more than one night.

Room Tip: The pictures on the website can hide many small deficiencies. Kitchen good with microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 930shanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at Cable court for 2 nights. Nice motel. Clean except the bathroom needs a major reno.
Very conveniet to all the places we wanted to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divastarzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
3.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#30 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Motel
Garden Motel
#36 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Court Motel

Property: Cable Court Motel
Address: 833 Cumberland Street | North Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cable Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cable Court Motel. We are located in a prime postition in central Dunedin, one block away from Dunedin Hospital and University of Otago. A short easy walk away are the Botanical Gardens, Supermarkets and vibrant downtown Dunedin. We offer warm, sunny and newly refurbished studio, one bedroom and family units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cable Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cable Court Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing