We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, roomy and good value”
Review of Carisbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carisbrook Motel
Ranked #47 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This one was a bit older, but very clean and roomy. We had a two bedroom unit, which was very comfortable and clean. My girls loved it as well. It was a drive into town, but a quick drive. We enjoyed it so much we decided to stay an extra night. All in all very good value for money, and nice, friendly hosts.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

The first thing to greet us on arrival at the Carisbrook motel was an upgrade to a two room unit with plenty of space and absolutely spotless. The manager and her partner were terrific people and couldn't do enough for us. They sent us to the local pub up the road and we had good pub grub and once again a successful dabble on the pokies. The Motel is quite a distance from the city centre but is on a bus route with the stop right outside the front. No driving needed to go to the shops. Good laundry facilities which my wife eagerly utilised.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinW8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

the room was very old and everything was old
it wasn't clean and when we find something that shouldn't be in a clean room the manager just killed it and didn't offer discount or compensation.
won't go to stay there again and deffenetly won't advise anybody else to do it, low price is not good reason to chose it, you get exectly what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tami n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This motel was very dated but we found it to be clean and the staff were friendly. The area the hotel was in was a little interesting with some run down houses and less than desirable characters living nearby. We went to the tavern down the road for dinner, which was good pub food for a good price. It was a 5 minute drive into dunedin from the motel. Good place to stay if you are not spending a lot of time in your room and just staying a night or two.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felicity t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Nothing to complain about here, especially given the price. Lovely people, clean comfortable accommodation. The pub on the corner gave a us a real blast of Kiwi culture!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YorkieGorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We were booked here through golden chain and found it to be on the main road. It is a old motel dated still in the 70s but clean. About 20min drive into Dunedin and tourist attractions.Bus at the door or 5min walk down the road.Okay for a short stay staff friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngcroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here two nights because our travel agent had booked and paid, if not we would not have stayed, very run down rooms, stained and dirty chairs, peeling wallpaper, noisy heating, only one very thin doona on the bed, very disseminated all round.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lentara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.5 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#36 of 61 in Dunedin
394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#53 of 61 in Dunedin
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cumberland Motel
Cumberland Motel
#57 of 61 in Dunedin
22 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bayfield Motels
Bayfield Motels
#55 of 62 in Dunedin
37 reviews
8.8 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carisbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrook Motel

Address: 169 South Road | PO Box 2241, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £64 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carisbrook Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carisbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing