We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”
Review of Carisbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carisbrook Motel
Ranked #50 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We recently stayed here while settling our daughter into university. Great place to stay. Units very clean and tidy. They are also serviced daily. Staff are very friendly and helpful and prepared to put themselves out to ensure your stay is enjoyable. Will even make themselves available outside opening hours. Thank you for your hospitality. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Carisbrook Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

I recently travelled to Dunedin to be with my grandmother while she had an operation in Dunedin Hospital.

Checked in and was shown to my room It wasn't a modern room but has everything you need and was great for the price. Had a decent TV, comfy chairs and couch and a separate roomed kitchen. The only downside I found was the WiFi, I went to try this to do some work but found it was $100 for 1GB of internet! Ended up using my phone.

Staff were friendly at checkin and checkout, even though it is right next to the road was very quiet and had no issues getting to sleep at night. Will definitely recommend to family and friends should they need a decent motel to stay at in Dunedin

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Once again, we had another great stay at Carisbrook Motels. Lynn and Jeff are the perfect hosts. Such a great location and lovely and quiet. The room was just perfect. See you next time Lynn and Jeff ........ we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Booked accommodation weeks ahead by phone. We needed specific bedding configuration as we were travelling with our grand-daughter. They had one room available which suited. On checking in and paying we were given the key to find that the room we had booked had been given to someone else. There were no other suitable rooms available. I asked why we were not phoned and at least given the chance to find alternative suitable accommodation as they had my contact details. He was well aware that I was not happy and was disappointed but as we had a family function to attend had no choice but to accept a room that certainly was not ideal. As we were about to go the family function the 'wife' arrived at our room and was nothing short of rude...saying that she will give us our money back and that we can go. She came looking for an argument. We did stay, but only because time did not allow us to look for accommodation elsewhere. The room itself is dated........carpet worn through to the backing, old bedding, mould infested sealer in the shower, toiled seat was nothing short of disgusting not to mention the street noise. We will never stay here again and will tell all those who ask the same.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

It’s great to find a Motel with plenty of room, that’s very well priced and has great hosts. I would highly recommend this motel if you are looking for somewhere to stay that is, value for money, Quiet, Roomy, Central to the CBD along with very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I had the pleasure of organising the accommodation for our extended family for a wedding held at Glenfalloch in Dunedin over this past weekend. Lynn was so friendly and happy to communate thru emails for my reservation. As it was a very large group & there are always last minute changes you have to make Lynn was fantastic & put us in rooms she felt would accommodate us all. Units were spacious,clean,lovely quilts in bedrooms and everything you need for a couple of nights with shops close by. I do feel they need to change the light fittings out of date & very dull light & TV SHELF MUST GO,that is my only small complaint. We will be back hope you enjoyed your little treat in fridge Lynn& Geoff. Thank you so much, will be back for sure. RG

Room Tip: a MUST to stay here in Dunedin especially for large family functions & needing to stay a night o...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our room was a bit dated, but the room was comfortable, spottlessly clean, our terrific hosts Lyn andGeoff have been at the Motel little over 5 months, and have introduced a high standard, their helpfull atitude of nothing is to much trouble, for us ,or other guests at the same time during our stay.
The bus stops outside the motel every 10 / 15 min, to the city centre of Dunedin.
We will be back again. Thank You

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.1 mi away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#51 of 61 in Dunedin
69 reviews
1.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
6.7 mi away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lisburn House
Lisburn House
#26 of 63 in Dunedin
76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bayfield Motels
Bayfield Motels
#56 of 63 in Dunedin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carisbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrook Motel

Address: 169 South Road | PO Box 2241, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £64 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carisbrook Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carisbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing