We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Cafe”

Ironic Cafe and Bar
Ranked #1 of 346 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: **WINNER NZ CAFE OF THE YEAR 2014/2015** OUR FOOD IS FRESH, MODERN AND INNOVATIVE. We source most of our ingredients locally and also use our neighbours at the Otago Farmers Market, Evansdale Cheese, Cairnmuir Central Otago olive oil & fresh fruit & vegetables throughout our changing seasons.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classy Cafe”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very close to Dunedin's Railway Station, Ironic makes its own bread and pasta, both were excellent, ambience is a plus and there's a gas fire just in case it's a cold day. Menu has plenty of choices, lovers of seafood will not be disappointed, service and presentation are both very good, wine selections are superior and there's even Emerson's Pilsener on tap! To be recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    114
    25
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson City, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Lunch cafe - full of locals!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Eaten here several times on business lunches and always excallant food, service and atmosphere.
Cool place with interesting art and sculpture, interesting menu, very good service, perfect piping hot flat whites, interesting tasty food.

Not cheap but good value for what you get. Can have snack from counter, light lunch, or a rather big meal. I had a lamb burger which was home made, very very tasty, with what I think were thin Kumara fries, salad. All for $18. My colleague has pasta of day at $21 and said it was delicious.

Full of locals, plenty of parking. Worth a small drive.

In warmer weather has great outdoor dining space too.

Never been disappointed.
(why is there no spell check on this site!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamarilloinnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely dining”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We reserved a table for lunch on a Thursday and it was almost full. They had a fire and it was nice looking out to our Heritage Railway Station.
The staff were attentive and the food was well presented and tasted great.
We had our coffee on couches beside the fire which was lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moeraki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Best Liver and Bacon in years!!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My husbands favourite meal which I won't cook for him. Ironic serves this lunch dish which he really enjoys. My favourite is anything else on their lunch menu. Very warm, friendly staff and great food. Excellent parking outside no matter how busy town is. A great place to have lunch as no long waits for meal. Looking forward to having the Evening dining experience in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Our group ate here one Friday night, they were very flexible with our reservation (we ended up with two less people than anticipated). The waitress was great and the food delicious! I'd go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ironic Cafe and Bar also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Ironic Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing