We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly with tasty generous portions”

Ironic Cafe and Bar
Ranked #1 of 353 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: **WINNER NZ CAFE OF THE YEAR 2014/2015** OUR FOOD IS FRESH, MODERN AND INNOVATIVE. We source most of our ingredients locally and also use our neighbours at the Otago Farmers Market, Evansdale Cheese, Cairnmuir Central Otago olive oil & fresh fruit & vegetables throughout our changing seasons.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family friendly with tasty generous portions”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We dropped in here for lunch and as a visitor to Dunedin I had to try their Cheese rolls and I wasn't disappointed. Others in the family enjoyed delicious meals also and all of generous portions. Very nice!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    124
    27
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appledore, Devon, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A breakfast surprise”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

If you are really looking for something different for breakfast then try here. We visited one Monday morning and had the breakfast of our trip. A most interesting and imaginative fusion menu, good strong coffee and a price that you can afford We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast - thank you

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lively food, Great service. ?”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely brunch of eggs benedict with the best hash browns ever! My daughter had the buttermilk pancakes which she said were amazing. Coffee was good but could have been hotter. Service was very friendly and efficient. I will definitely be back though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWoody65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classy Cafe”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very close to Dunedin's Railway Station, Ironic makes its own bread and pasta, both were excellent, ambience is a plus and there's a gas fire just in case it's a cold day. Menu has plenty of choices, lovers of seafood will not be disappointed, service and presentation are both very good, wine selections are superior and there's even Emerson's Pilsener on tap! To be recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson City, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Lunch cafe - full of locals!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Eaten here several times on business lunches and always excallant food, service and atmosphere.
Cool place with interesting art and sculpture, interesting menu, very good service, perfect piping hot flat whites, interesting tasty food.

Not cheap but good value for what you get. Can have snack from counter, light lunch, or a rather big meal. I had a lamb burger which was home made, very very tasty, with what I think were thin Kumara fries, salad. All for $18. My colleague has pasta of day at $21 and said it was delicious.

Full of locals, plenty of parking. Worth a small drive.

In warmer weather has great outdoor dining space too.

Never been disappointed.
(why is there no spell check on this site!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamarilloinnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ironic Cafe and Bar also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Ironic Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing