We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal”
Review of Neptuno - CLOSED

Neptuno
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb meal”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was a genuinely amazing meal. We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children. Service was excellent. The food was incredible, particularly given the prices are not exorbitant ($26-$30 mains). Between us we had the garlic prawns, asian seafood chowder and kebabs for starters. All were excellent although the seafood chowder was extremely spicy, which wasn't expected. The mains of salmon and chicken were excellent. The potatoes were to die for even! The kids' menu is very good, with porterhouse steak an option for the children. Virtually all meals were able to be done gluten free. We had booked and asked for a table with a view over the ocean, which we got. Lovely views, but only a few tables can have the view! Overall, an extremely satisfying visit and we will be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OshXman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food with a View”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We went here for dinner in November 2013. the food was very good and the service from the young lady serving was excellent. I had the fish of the day with risotto and my husband had the chicken. We both really enjoyed our meals. The view from the restaurant is also lovely.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Supper with Asian Vibe”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A small menu, but my husband and I were both really happy with our food. The restaurant was quiet and so the service was very quick! We had a lovely view over the beach and the restaurant was cosy. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went for our work christmas party. Everyone enjoyed their meal. I had the crispy salmon and caramel chocolate for dessert. Salmon and potatoes were so good! The decor is very pretty - I especially like the mural on the bar. Can't beat the view! I love that they have vege and herb garden of their own.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lucky to have met a local who mentioned the great cafés for coffee at St Clair beach. We enjoyed tasty , good value lunch included salmon cooked to perfection, chicken and bacon burger with a twist. Wait staff very friendly and attentive. While waiting for lunch we enjoyed watching the waves along the beach front. The restaurant has an edible grade via its entrance very cosy inside on a rather wet day outside.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neptuno also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Mosgiel, Dunedin
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing