We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We once again enjoyed staying with Brent and Sandy for a couple of nights. We found Hazelhurst House as welcoming as on our previous visit. The whole house is comfortable and well heated which is so important in Dunedin in winter (or elsewhere for that matter). Guests staying with Brent and Sandy won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your positive comment. Always great to have guests return. It's like having family stay. Just read that we have had our warmest July and August on record. No wonder the spring flowers were out so early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

A lovely turn of the 20th century house with a great view of the city and harbour and delightful hosts Sandy and Brent. Nothing was too much trouble and the attention to detail was outstanding. They were the perfect hosts, friendly but not intrusive. We both slept so well in the bed that my husband raved about the comfort of the bed for the next day. The free wi fi was a pleasant and very welcome surprise. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange and Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your review. Great to get get the positive response and feedback about how we manage the business. We do continually review how we do everything and how best to make guests stays as comfortable as possible. There are no additional costs, and that's the way we like it.
Those beds are amazing. It will be lovely to welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monthey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My mother and I fell in love with it!
The house is so beautiful, so well restaured..! The rooms are spacious and really cosy at the same time, the bathroom is a-ma-zing, with shower and a great bathtub, an amazing living room with everything you need (and more!), complemented with a breath-taking view to the city and impressive sunrise! They even have a jaccuzzi (wich we didn't try, unfortunately...)
The last drop of "amazing-ness" was the kindness and reception of the hosts. Can't put it in words!
We just wish to be able to return there once again...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana_RN92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Wow! Thank you for your kind words. When you try to have everything ready, work hard at it, and then get such a marvellous response, then it is brilliant. We do get the best of guests and would love to see you again. Thank you, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

What a gorgeous house, very well located in Dunedin, and above with so charming hosts. Brent and Sandy sure know how to make you feel comfortable and discover their city and region. Very large room, high ceilings, great equipment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thanks for coming and for your positive words. We want it to feel like home away from home, with comforts and help at hand. We are half way through winter and the weather is still mild. I guess another cold patch will be ahead of us. Just pruned the roses and we're looking forward to the joys of spring.
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Hazel House and in Dunedin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Donato in Poggio, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This lovely old home is located just 5 minutes from the cbd of Christchurch on a hillside overlooking the city. Brent & Sandy were just lovely, helping us in any way they could with advice on what to do where to go. The house is beautiful & we will definitely recommend this B&B to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOBOaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Sandy & I have so enjoyed the best of guests. We love sharing our house and want to help make your stay as enjoyable and interesting as possible. There's so much to see and do in Dunedin.
Thank you for your delightful comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

This place is just amazing, the service was excellent, nice quiet location, and 5 minutes to the city area.
If you can appreciate the quality of an older house, ornate pressed metal paneling, tongue and groove timber walls, and breakfast overlooking the harbour area, then this place is ideal.
One of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. The only downside is it takes a while for the heater to take effect with the 3mtr plus high ceilings. Electric blankets made up for that.
The important part is that we were made to feel welcome....thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hazel House. It is a grand old villa with real character and charm. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed for three nights in this lovely house, slightly away from the town center but perfect since I had a car. The room was great, if a bit small (would have loved to have a work table) but the friendliness of the hosts and the wonderful warm breakfast more than made up for it. The place even had a hot tub in the small attached garden and great views of the city as it is located at an elevation. Brent and Sandy went out of their way to make me feel at home and gave me some good tips for restaurants. They had a fridge with wine and bear and fresh fruit and cookies on the table all the time. Sandy even did my laundry for me which was very kind. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhrahma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
It was great having you stay. Thank you for your positive comments. Hope the rest of the trip and flights home went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
7.5 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
1.8 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.0 mi away
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 50 Hazel Avenue | Hazelhurst, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazel House is a classic 1900's villa located only five minutes from Dunedin's City Centre. Majestic rooms, ornate ceilings and lead light windows, it is an absolute delight to offer a peaceful and quiet location with warm inviting rooms, full continental & cooked breakfasts. Spectacular guests lounge, king bedroom with private bathroom, or queen bedroom with ensuite, quality linen and comfort. Enjoy Sky TV, free wireless internet, tea and coffee or complimentary glass of wine, central heating, private courtyard with spa pool, veranda, and warm welcome from hosts Sandy & Brent Ward. Hazel House is a short drive to outstanding restaurants, cafes, historic buildings and attractions; including St Clair Beach, Dunedin Railway Station, Chinese Gardens, and the spectacular wildlife and Larnach Castle on the Otago Peninsula. Dunedin offers so much in art, fashion, sporting activities and history. Our aim is to make a real difference to your time in Dunedin, our fabulous "Edinburgh of the South". A home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing