We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They make you feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 59 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“They make you feel at home”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was the first stop on our recent visit to NZ and we were made so welcome and given such good advice and information on local restaurants and sights. On top of that our room in this elegant home was first class as was the breakfast. A welcome introduction to the people of NZ

Room Tip: The rooms to the north give you a view of Dunedin to get your sense of direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradders242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
So glad you enjoyed the welcome and stay. That's marvellous to hear.
We hope your trip to New Zealand was everything you hoped it would be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
75
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
n.ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A really lovely B&B with excellent hosts. Very comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Lovely lounge to sit in at night. Great information about Dunedin and the surrounding area. Thank you Sandy and Brent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauri40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Our aim is to make your stay comfortable and to help make the most of your time seeing all there is to see in Dunedin. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and have fond memories of New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our first stop on a second visit to NZ. We remembered how friendly everyone had been, and we were not disappointed this time. Sandy and Brent could not have been more helpful, our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. There is a good selection of eateries only a few minutes drive away at the beach, so you don't have to go into Dunedin unless you want to. There is so much to do in the area, we were glad we stayed for 4 nights and the house itself is beautiful. We were very glad of our choice!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmalleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Your comments have made our days. That's exactly our aim - to be welcoming, welcome guests to our house like friends and family. So pleased you felt that. Thank you and we hope all your holiday lived up to your expectation.
St Clair Beach is a special place with great choices of restaurants and the relaxed and beautiful beach setting.
Autumn is here now and leaves are starting to present me with a daily challenge, but it's another stunning day today. Here's hoping for many more.
Hopefully we get the new chandelier lights in the bedrooms next week. We're really pleased with them and know they will add to the character of the rooms.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay in the Hazel House B&B while we visited the south island in New Zealand. The hosts were so friendly and didn't hesitate to let us use their washing machine. They had a nice looking hot tub which we didn't get a chance to try, but they offered wonderful breakfasts and great advice on things to do, especially restaurants at the nearby St Clair beach. The B&B is beautiful and only 6 minutes from the center of the city.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments. We are so lucky in Dunedin to have such great restaurants. This last week we have seen amazing photos of the yellow eyed penguins guests have snapped. I think I need a new camera! If you're lucky they'll put on a great show.
Not as many strawberries from our garden this year as they are new plants, but enough to add real flavour to Sandy's fresh fruit salads for breakfasts. Hopefully still many more to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at this lovely B&B for three nights. When we arrived we were met by Brett who explained every thing about the B&B and the surrounding area. We were made to feel very welcome. Our room was lovely with a kings size bed. Our bathroom was just down the hall and was private, just for us it was large and had both a bath and a separate shower. Robes were also provided, they were the softest I've ever worn. Sandy offered us a cooked breakfast which set us up for the day.
Hazel House B&B is an extremely beautiful period house with lots of character. It's just out side the city centre. All activities and attractions are easy to get to and it is confidently situated.
Thank you Brett & Sandy for your hospitality we enjoyed staying in your lovely home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKgatrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
So delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hazel House is a gracious old villa and we love sharing it. It was great that you could stay the 3 nights and have time to relax and well as see all the sights and enjoy your time. Can't believe it's almost the end of February. We've had the best of guests and are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Dunedin is New Zealand's Scottish City a busy port and business hub nestled in lush green hills. Nature abundant with albatross and endangered penguin colonies. City vibrant with excellent brewery and Cadbury factory tours. What better than to come home to friendly hosts and a HOT TUB . What a treat this beautiful old villa offers

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendymoonshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
So pleased you found it a treat to come home to our lovely old villa. Yes, we are so lucky to have such amazing wildlife on our doorstep. The endangered yellow eyed pengiun, the royal albatros, the sea lions, and the little blue pengiuns are fantastic treasures right here in Dunedin.
Just a reminder to visitors coming to Otago Peninsula to keep off the beach at Sandfly Bay, be in the viewing areas, at dusk so the pengiuns can return to their nests.
Thank you for your comments and for the positive words about the city we love, Dunedin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Hazel House is in a residential area about 5 minutes drive from Dunedin. Close to cute restaurants on the beach at St. Clair, and about 15 minutes drive from the sights on the Otago Peninsula. Friendly, gracious hosts and a lovely living room area where you can have a full breakfast in the beautiful bay window.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your review. St Clair is one of our favourite spots for dining. In Dunedin we are lucky to have such a great choice of restaurants. Can't wait to take our grandsons down the peninsula to see the wildlife soon. Pleased you enjoyed your stay. Warm regards Sandy & Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.8 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
7.5 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
9.2 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#6 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 50 Hazel Avenue | Hazelhurst, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazel House is a classic 1900's villa located only five minutes from Dunedin's City Centre. Majestic rooms, ornate ceilings and lead light windows, it is an absolute delight to offer a peaceful and quiet location with warm inviting rooms, full continental & cooked breakfasts. Spectacular guests lounge, king bedroom with private bathroom, or queen bedroom with ensuite, quality linen and comfort. Enjoy Sky TV, free wireless internet, tea and coffee or complimentary glass of wine, central heating, private courtyard with spa pool, veranda, and warm welcome from hosts Sandy & Brent Ward. Hazel House is a short drive to outstanding restaurants, cafes, historic buildings and attractions; including St Clair Beach, Dunedin Railway Station, Chinese Gardens, and the spectacular wildlife and Larnach Castle on the Otago Peninsula. Dunedin offers so much in art, fashion, sporting activities and history. Our aim is to make a real difference to your time in Dunedin, our fabulous "Edinburgh of the South". A home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing