We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartments at St Clair(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunedin Palms Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Larnach Castle Lodge(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
106
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bclair beachnew zealandbed and breakfastnice hostswonderful stayquality toiletriesbreakfast was excellenthome from homeold housewished we could have stayed longerbedroom and bathroomfew minutes drivetwo nightsnice bathroomcity centreenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed two nights at this beautiful house which is more than 100 years old. The lounge was quite warm and cozy with fantastic view of the city as well as the peninsula. We really appreciate the kindness of The host, Sandy and Brent, who made us feel like at home. I believe everyone who have stayed at this place must find the breakfast amazing. We wish we could stay longer at this lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankGUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. Sandy & I really appreciate you taking the time and writing this review. The lounge is a stunning room with a view that makes breakfast in the bay window a pleasure. So glad you enjoyed your breakfast. Sandy is super eh!
We hope the rest of your holiday was full of great memories and would love to welcome you back some day. Keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were treated like family. It was cold when we arrived - with snow on the grass - but the reception was great. Umm, unless you're Australian, don't try the Vegemite! But the rest of breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keaneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

So pleased our hospitality warmed you up on a day when early winter weather came. Yes, vegemite is an acquired taste, but love it. Hope that driving and planning all worked out well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had the good fortune to stay at Hazel House in April for 2 nights as part of our itinerary to NZ. Little did we know when we booked this accommodation that it would not be nearly enough time. Your hosts, Sandy and Brent are the most welcoming hosts that make you feel immediately at home. The appointment of your room, and access to this beautifully maintained home, is just a delight. Sandy and Brent go to no end of trouble and assist you in every possible way. We would say to anyone, don't hesitate in making a booking and you'll enjoy it as much as we did.

Thank you Sandy and Brent, and we hope to get back your way again in our travels.

kinds regards

Maxine and Stuart

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart_carruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We continue to be blessed with the best guests ever!
We really enjoy having guests stay and we want every stay to be as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We loved having you stay as you were so positive and just a joy to have. Great to hear you enjoyed it and yes, we'd love to welcome you again when you are back in Dunedin.
We've just added lovely chandeliers to each bedroom and are thrilled with how they look.
Thanks you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Sandy and Brent, Thank you both for making our stay so pleasant, although we know the old town well it was a comfort to have hosts who did too, and took an interest in our days outings,
loved the spa, your breakfast where first class, A grand old home, we are pleased to have had you both as our hosts,J and J

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sisters74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

It was great having you stay. Such a happy time for you guys and we were pleased to be part of it. Really pleased everything went well and you enjoyed our lovely Dunedin. Yes, the spa is amazing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Brent and Sandy are the most gracious and welcoming hosts. Upon arrival they bring you into their home with an invite for a cup of tea ,cookies . They truly want to have you enjoy the Dunedin area and have many suggestions to offer. Sandy makes a delicious home cooked breakfast as well. The room we had was well appointed with ensuite. Access to the guest parlor in this lovingly restored home is also a plus. Would have enjoyed more time in this lovely B/B.The location is away from city center but very close to the St Clair area where there are lovely restaurants along the waters edge.

Room Tip: We had the Pohutukawa Room overlooking the city of Dunedin with its own ensuite.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent W, Owner at Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderfully positive comments. So pleased you loved our gracious old villa. So do we. The guests lounge is stunning. There is so much to see and do in Dunedin so it is important to plan your days so that you can see what takes your interest. The outstanding wildlife on the peninsula and the beauty of the old buildings in the city centre are well worth planing in times to see.
Thanks again. It's great to hear that our efforts to welcome and inform you of things to see are appreciated and are helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews