We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish”
Review of Fish hook

Fish hook
Ranked #58 of 346 Restaurants in Dunedin
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Being NZ's most iconic dish, Fish Hook takes a new approach to revive the reputation of kiwi 'fush and chups' as we know it. Providing the highest quality fresh fish caught from our own boat in the local waters off the southern coast. We offer a wide range of species to choose from, Blue Cod, Sole, Monk and Gurnard just to name a few. Choose to have your fresh fish beer battered, crumbed or grilled (for those looking for a healthy option).Team this with your choice of shoestring, chunky McCain's fries or Kumera fries (sweet potato), a variety of sauces or pick from the range of fresh salads to create your ideal fish and chip meal.If you want to get a bit fancy or try something different there's also calamari rings,scallops, sweet chilli prawn skewers or salt n pepper squid to name a few of your options and if you need something to quench your thurst. Local ales such as the classic southern Speights or Emersons are available along with a fine pick of wines and non alcoholic beverages.Locally owned and operated. Take away or sit in and enjoy a warm friendly atmosphere in the heart of Dunedin city.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Fish”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The seafood was great. Just a tad bit expensive for what they were selling. Practically everything is ala carte, so you choose the fish, decide how it is done. Buy whatever sides you want or oysters etc.

Was a little busy when I went but the staff were nice and friendly. Food was nice and all but I wouldnt hunt this place up just to eat here if it were a hassle.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xunliang_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    22
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Takeaways not as great as dine in”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I have sat in fish hook 3 times and enjoyed my meal. The fish beautifully cooked and the service is great. Smiley and friendly staff. However, I've also had takeaways a few times and never seem to get the same great quality standard. The food is always greasy and just hard to enjoy. If they were to send out the same standard of food as they serve when customers dine in I would definitely rate this place the best fish n chip shop. Unfortunately consistency is key and these guys just don't have it. I've gone off the place because of the takeaways, though sitting in is great, being able to take away is most convenient and when you can't do that and enjoy it at the same time is a shame.

Helpful?
Thank meganrose04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are fisher people and as such rarely eat fish out as we are used to it being super fresh.
However we were in Dunedin recently and had this place recommended to us so decided to try it out. We ordered the groper - we are from the north so would call it hapuka. They don't serve this fish battered or crumbed or indeed fried. Grilled is all you get but this is really the only way to eat it. It was perfect - fresh as, flakey, moist and delicious. Some hand cut fries and a couple of oysters on the side and a glass of wine all for a little over $20 each. What a bargain. There is nothing flash about this place - it is all about the food

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very fresh fish”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stopped in here for a quick lunch. The cod was extremely fresh, served piping hot, and the chip were fresh and tasty.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SDTravel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
361 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Inconsistent quality”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have eaten takeaways from Fish Hook four times. One time was great, one was ok and two were unpleasant. When I ate there recently the deep fried fish had not been drained for long enough and was very, very greasy. Beautiful fresh fish ruined by too much grease making for an unpleasant meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah53187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish hook also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Fish hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing