We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice food, nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rainforest - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Rainforest
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
Restaurant details
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Really nice food, nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

The food is very nice and the desserts are jaw dropping. I liked the food - and the prices are very reasonable. Worth a look.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Styly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Appalling customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Two weekends ago we were intending to be in Dunedin on a Sunday night and so decided to go the The Rainforest as it was very close to where we were staying. Rang the restaurant four times on Saturday evening and nobody answered and there was no answer machine - just the beep of a fax machine (which is a bit strange as according to their website they do not have a fax number). In the end I sent them an email (via their contact page on their website) asking for a table for two for the next night and giving them my contact details and asking them to confirm the booking. Did not hear back from them so once we got to Dunedin I rang them two more times - but once again got no reply. I asked at the reception desk of our accommodation and they said to their knowledge they were still open. Ever optimistic we went along at 7.30pm to find the place closed up - but no sign on the door saying they were no longer open. If they were closed for a vacation or a bereavement I totally understand - but they need to update their website/have an answer machine with a message stating their availability and maybe put a sign on the door saying closed and for how long.
Very disappointed in the total lack of customer service - I have still never had a response to the email I sent them and after the total absence of contact from them or availability information I most certainly will never waste my time again attempting to go there for a meal.
I therefore warn any potential customers to check first that this restaurant is open and in fact still operating rather than just turning up hoping to be served.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TandJInv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Terrible service, the chicken meals not cooked thoroughly, very dissapointing, won't be coming back?...............,,,,,,',',,

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zac123076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Food was great - best Beef Rendang we have had since 5 years ago in Cape Town. A bit of a fuss when we arrived - we had taken our own beer as their website said BYO but when we got there they insisted it was only for wine. Eventually they relented and let us drink our beer!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAUPO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real Malaysian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Enjoyed the food so much my Malay wife insisted we return so dined here both nights we were in Dunedin.Reasonable prices for good sized portions in pleasant surroundings most mains in the NZ$20-25 bracket.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ted_mnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rainforest also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing