We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and average.”
Review of The Hill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Hill
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Expensive and average.”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Did not like the new look, new menu or the price list. The menu is limited and the food is just not worth the price. Just don't like it anymore. It was better before the changes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Styly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Priced like a restaurant, but it's a pub meal.”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

This is a major step up from the previous chef. The only issue is that with a main close to $30, there is a lot of competition with restaurants in Dunedin who are just way better.
The chicken liver pâté was good and worthwhile as a starter to share. I went on to the pork belly with scallops. We also had a Thai green curry.
The plating of the pork was pub standard "put it all on a plate". No finesse or skill shown here at all.
The dominant flavour was the balsamic & maple reduction that swamped the scallops and the pork. Sadly no one had remembered to season the mash. The pork crackling was cooked well but with only light scoring, cutting this into an edible size was not easy.
The curry was very good. This was well presented and accompanied by a side of yogurt to cool down the spice if it was too hot. We appreciated this. Unfortunately, the vegetables were just too big. Large pieces of broccoli and full length beans were way beyond the fork and spoon we were given. Whoever prepared the vegetables for this dish obviously hasn't tried eating it.
If you want to spend $29.50 on a main, go to Bacchus, Scotia, Plato....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning view and excellent food”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

It was Valentine's Day so we were greeted with a complimentary glass of bubbly. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was imaginative, beautifully presented and delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldgeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We spent 3 days on the Otago peninsula just on the edge of Dunedin and the lodge owners recommended The Hill as a local restaurant we could walk to which was building a really good reputation. It is run by a young couple and I think they have been open for about a year having totally renovated the building to produce a very stylish modern look with views out over Dunedin and the coast. The menu was interesting enough that we went twice for dinner. We enjoyed their special take on sangria as a cocktail, made with some local wines and it was a lot better than we have experienced in Spain. The food was well cooked and presented with variety extending to a very good green Thai curry which I enjoyed and the chef is prepared to experiment which was good. Staff were great so hopefully they will continue to build the business as they deserve success. Definitely 5 stars as the value for money is right as well. It could be a bit quiet there as it is a big restaurant and that's the only downside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidmorganDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hill also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing